Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31

Thread: HowTo: Set up a USB stick to save changes

  1. #21
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    24

    Default Will this tutorial work for backtrack 4

    Will this tutorial work for Backtrack 4?

  2. #22
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    Step 4 was giving me no end of headaches. No matter what I did I kept getting the following after doing the 'w' to write the new table:
    WARNING: Re-reading the partition table failed with error 22: Invalid argument.
    The kernel still uses the old table.
    The new table will be used at the next reboot.
    Syncing disks.
    I googled for a few solutions none of which worked. I fired up qtparted and it worked fine. (I may add a small note to this effect to the wiki).

    Step 6 seems to be missing a switch in the copy command:
    Code:
    cp /mnt/sdb1/* /mnt/sdd
    should be
    Code:
    cp -r /mnt/sdb1/* /mnt/sdd
    Also http://www.infosecramblings.com/back...ssus-ff3-nmap/ has some good follow-on steps (add nessus, upgrade nmap and firefox).

    Edit: wiki has been updated.

    Quote Originally Posted by kidshoalin View Post
    Will this tutorial work for Backtrack 4?
    Check this:
    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=20279
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  3. #23
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default problems with step six

    ok so things seem to work just fine up until step six.

    Back in root, type:
    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/sdd1
    mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1
    mkdir /mnt/sdd2
    mount /dev/sdd2 /mnt/sdd2
    cp /mnt/sdb1/* /mnt/sdd1



    when i am at the "mkdir /mnt/sdd1" (mine is sda1) it says that the dir already exists so i just skipped it. the rest goes fine til the last one. it just says that it doesnt exist or something like that. that makes me wonder: do i need have something different for the last part? this is what i entered:

    mkdir /mnt/sda1
    mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1
    mkdir /mnt/sda2
    mount /dev/sda2 /mnt/sda2
    cp /mnt/sdb1/* /mnt/sda1

    at the end it says it doesnt exist. what am i doing wrong?

  4. #24
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DangerUponU View Post
    ok so things seem to work just fine up until step six.

    Back in root, type:
    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/sdd1
    mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1
    mkdir /mnt/sdd2
    mount /dev/sdd2 /mnt/sdd2
    cp /mnt/sdb1/* /mnt/sdd1



    when i am at the "mkdir /mnt/sdd1" (mine is sda1) it says that the dir already exists so i just skipped it. the rest goes fine til the last one. it just says that it doesnt exist or something like that. that makes me wonder: do i need have something different for the last part? this is what i entered:

    mkdir /mnt/sda1
    mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1
    mkdir /mnt/sda2
    mount /dev/sda2 /mnt/sda2
    cp /mnt/sdb1/* /mnt/sda1

    at the end it says it doesnt exist. what am i doing wrong?
    Did you format it?
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  5. #25
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    after seriously thinking about it i figured out that im just an idiot. it really makes a difference when you copy from the source.... figured it out, thanks for the response.

  6. #26
    Member kazalku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    416

    Default

    Hope that the thread is not dead yet. Anyway, I tried this "USB installation with change" with BT4b as well, however for few issues (like, if I update msf, db_driver doesn't work) I had to come back to BT3.

    From the following 4 sets (which I'll call 1, 2, 3 & 4):

    LABEL startx
    MENU LABEL BT3 Graphics mode (VESA KDE) - Persistent
    KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz
    APPEND changes=/dev/sdb2 vga=0x317 initrd=/boot/initrd.gz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw autoexec=kdm

    LABEL xconf1
    MENU LABEL BT3 Graphics mode (KDE) - Persistent
    KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz
    APPEND changes=/dev/sdb2 vga=0x317 initrd=/boot/initrd.gz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw autoexec=xconf;kdm

    LABEL xconf1
    MENU LABEL BT3 Graphics mode (KDE)
    KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz
    APPEND vga=0x317 initrd=/boot/initrd.gz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw autoexec=xconf;kdm

    LABEL startx
    MENU LABEL BT3 Graphics mode (VESA KDE)
    KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz
    APPEND vga=0x317 initrd=/boot/initrd.gz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw autoexec=kdm
    all 1, 2, 3, 4 work on my old laptop (Dell, Inspiron 1520). However, when I'm trying it on my new one (Dell Studio 1537), only 4 (VESA KDE) is working which doesn't serve the purpose, no changes are saved.

    Error msg shown after 'strartx' for all others:
    VESA (0): No matching mode
    Screen(s) found, but none have a usuable configuration.
    Any idea?
    If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough -- Albert Einstein

  7. #27
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default

    1) Only the first two include tha ability to save changes, hence "changes=/dev/sdb2".
    2) Are you sure "/dev/sdb2" is still your USB key on your new machine?
    3) At the boot menu you can select the "KDE Vesa" option, hit Tab and append " changes=/dev/sdb2" to the boot parameters and see if it works.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  8. #28
    Member kazalku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    416

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thorin View Post
    1) Only the first two include tha ability to save changes, hence "changes=/dev/sdb2".
    Yes, I know
    2) Are you sure "/dev/sdb2" is still your USB key on your new machine?
    Yep, if I hover my mouse on it after login (in VESA KDE mode), it shows /dev/sdb2
    3) At the boot menu you can select the "KDE Vesa" option, hit Tab and append " changes=/dev/sdb2" to the boot parameters and see if it works.
    No Luck

    Thanks anyway for the reply. Anything else?
    If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough -- Albert Einstein

  9. #29
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kazalku View Post
    Anything else?
    Is the changes partition ext2/3? Is there a "Changes" folder there?
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  10. #30
    Member kazalku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    416

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    Is the changes partition ext2/3?
    It's ext2
    Is there a "Changes" folder there?
    Good point Barry.... However, I mentioned in original post:
    all 1, 2, 3, 4 work on my old laptop (Dell, Inspiron 1520).
    So, it works well (with save changes) there. If I summerise the problem then, this one boots well:
    LABEL startx
    MENU LABEL BT3 Graphics mode (VESA KDE)
    KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz
    APPEND vga=0x317 initrd=/boot/initrd.gz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw autoexec=kdm
    but this one does not:
    LABEL startx
    MENU LABEL BT3 Graphics mode (VESA KDE) - Persistent
    KERNEL /boot/vmlinuz
    APPEND changes=/dev/sdb2 vga=0x317 initrd=/boot/initrd.gz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/ram0 rw autoexec=kdm
    ONLY difference between them is the addition of changes=/dev/sdb2

    Thanks for your helps
    If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough -- Albert Einstein

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •