Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: HowTo: Set up a USB stick to save changes

  1. #11
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Farnell View Post
    Lol @ spoonfeed mode. Yes i'm a noob.
    It's making sense so far, so i'l hang round bt3 to bother you oldfags some more. (no offense if your not into 4chan)
    No offense, although I had to look both 'oldfags' and '4chan'.

    Frankly though, you might want to understand and be comfortable with Linux before you embark on using BT3, as it is advanced, and fairly high level of understanding Linux is required for it. Also, if you're not doing pen testing, BT3 isn't very useful.

    EDIT:
    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    I don't know exactly what this is supposed to mean however I would appreciate (as would I'm sure the rest of the crew ) not being called old or a fag.
    You can look it up on Urban dictionary. I am old by the standard of most here, so that's not a big deal.

    "You're only as old as the woman you feel."
    -W. C. Fields

    And that probably indicates I'm not a fag.
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  2. #12
    Junior Member ktzqbp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    25

    Default

    I've made a note above the command sequence for deleting partitions that it doesn't have to be performed on a brand new USB.

  3. #13
    Junior Member ktzqbp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    25

    Default

    I've just fixed an error in the sequence in step 4. It now reads:
    Code:
    n
    p
    1
    <ENTER>
    +1024M
    n
    p
    2
    <ENTER>
    <ENTER>
    p
    Rather than:
    Code:
    n
    p
    1
    <ENTER>
    +1024M
    n
    p
    <ENTER>
    <ENTER>
    p
    (I omitted defining the second primary partition as number 2)

    Apologies

    Edit: I've also just edited out the guide telling you at the start to have BT installed on the USB. This is pointless since the partitions are wiped later on. Additionally, some steps in this guide have shellified.

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Ok. So I finally made it through the guide. Allmost that is.
    The only place I ran into problems was at part 6.

    6. Setting up partitions
    Back in root, type:
    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/sdd1
    mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sdd1
    mkdir /mnt/sdd2
    mount /dev/sdd2 /mnt/sdd2
    cp /mnt/sdb1/* /mnt/sdd1

    When I try to make a directory in both sdd1 and 2 bt tells me that the file allready exists. Since I figured this did make mutch of a difference I skipped it and just mounted the two partitions. Then the cp command tells me, i'm not sure for what reason, it's just going to omitt the boot and bt3 folder. So I open konqueror and manually drag drop the folders. Now it copies.
    After this the remaining part follow smoothly. Until I actually try to save something. I create a folder on the desktop and reboot. It's not there.

    Any ideas on what i'm doing wrong? (again) And possibly why the mkdir command doesnt do what it's supposed to do?
    I reconn the cp command doesnt want to copy the files because I didn't actually make a directory for them to be copied too.

    Thanks in advance.

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO freebsd_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default

    doesn't work for me also!

    Settings disappear when reboot

  6. #16
    Junior Member ktzqbp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Farnell View Post
    When I try to make a directory in both sdd1 and 2 bt tells me that the file allready exists.
    Are you sure that the device node for your USB is sdd? Methinks you've gotten the names mixed up somewhere...

    Quote Originally Posted by freebsd_man View Post
    doesn't work for me also!

    Settings disappear when reboot
    http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=e...estion&spell=1

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO freebsd_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default

    now works, i changed line olny for VESA KDE and then login with KDE... so now i add change folder also for KDE and works great

  8. #18
    Junior Member ktzqbp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by freebsd_man View Post
    now works, i changed line olny for VESA KDE and then login with KDE... so now i add change folder also for KDE and works great
    Cool, good to hear.

  9. #19
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I finally made it work!
    My first real achievement within linux :P

    anyhow. I had to modify the syslinux file a bit different. I noticed that my two usb partitions were called sda1 and sda2 when booting from it. So I simply booted from the ABD, made the syslinux cfg file look like changes=/dev/sda2 and then re-ran bootinst.sh. Now it works =)
    I allso found out that the reason mkdir didn't want to make the files, was because they were allready there. Checked it by simply using konquerer and going to /mnt/sdb.
    Yet another thing I modified was just to add -r to the cp command. Worked like a charm.
    All this was done on my aa1.

    Thank you all for your patiens and help.

  10. #20
    Just burned his ISO PowerJack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi, I've notice a problem with step 6. The copy command doesn't work.

    Code:
    cp /mnt/sdb1/* /mnt/sdd1
    This worked for me....

    Code:
    cp -r /mnt/sdb1/* /mnt/sdd1

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •