Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can't get wireless to work in BT3

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default Can't get wireless to work in BT3

    I have a Linksys WUSB54GC and I booted to the liveCD of BT3 and I've been screwing around with it for the past two hours and I still can't get internet. I've tried freaking everything.

    I've tried...
    ifconfig rausb0 up
    ifconfig (my interface actually came up)
    iwlist scan (it says that rausb0 can't find any networks)
    iwconfig rausb0 essid MY_ROUTERS_ESSID (didn't help)
    iwconfig rausb0 ap MY_ROUTERS_ESSID (didn't help)
    dhcpcd rausb0 (didn't really do anything)

    I've tried a ton of different combinations and none of them worked. My wireless is just fine in windows but I REALLY want to get this working. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    155

    Default

    iwconfig rausb0 essid "your_routers_essid"
    This is a hackers forum :P
    root ~# aircrack-ng pwnd-01.cap
    Lenovo Thinkpad R500, OS: Ubuntu 8.10, BackTrack3, Windows XP (VirtualBox), Windows Vista, Windows 7 beta

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sn0wm4n View Post
    I've tried...

    iwconfig rausb0 essid MY_ROUTERS_ESSID (didn't help)
    Did you even read my post?

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    For better help you should really advise what type of encryption your network is set at.

    If your network is open or has WEP you could try ;

    See if yr rausb0 is running;
    Code:
    airmon-ng
    If you see it listed fine, if not ;
    Code:
    modprobe -r rt73
    modprobe rt73

    Then set network info for rausb0 in iwconfig ;
    Code:
    iwconfig rausb0 channel <your channel> essid <"your essid">
    iwconfig rausb0 ap <your bssid> key <your WEP key in hex without colons>
    (if no WEP, forget the 'key')

    make sure rausb0 is up;
    Code:
    ifconfig rausb0 up
    Then check that rausb0 is associated with your router with
    Code:
    iwconfig rausb0
    (check for signal strength)

    Then do a dhcpcd to get an IP from your router;
    Code:
    dhcpcd -d rausb0

    If you are running WPA / WPA2 encryption then you should be using the wpa_supplicant.conf file.

    There is a lot of info here on how to set up the parameters to connect,
    check this thread for what seemed to work for another member ;

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=18384

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Never mind. I got it working :-)))). Here are the commands

    -ifconfig rausb0 up
    -iwlist scan (scan for networks)
    -iwconfig rausb0 essid NETWORKNAME (associates the wireless card with the access point)
    -iwconfig ap MAC_ADDRESS_OF_ACCESS_POINT (gets the wireless card to use the access point with taht MAC address)
    -dhcpcd rausb0
    THERE YOU GO! YOUR ONLINE :-))

    sometimes you might have to...
    -ifconfig rausb0 down
    -ifconfig rausb0 up
    to restart the wireless device.

  6. #6
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default

    Good to hear you sorted it, but would strongly suggest you put some WPA2 encryption on your
    network you see how easy it is for people to get in !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •