Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Error code 12 wrong essid or wpa?

  1. #1
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Default Error code 12 wrong essid or wpa?

    Hey all, thanks for your imput in advance.
    Im using an awus036h With standard airmon drivers and cant seem to deauth
    is there a known problem here?
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killadaninja View Post
    Hey all, thanks for your imput in advance.
    Im using an awus036h With standard airmon drivers and cant seem to deauth
    is there a known problem here?
    No, de-authentication is working perfectly fine with my AWUS036H and r8187 driver. Are you certain that the error output isn't valid?
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum killadaninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    London, United Kingdom.
    Posts
    526

    Default hmm

    I tried it pretty close, tron if you could do me a big favour as were running the same soft/hardware, get as far from the ap as you can(say 20 power) and see if you can get this error code 12 wrong essid or wpa to appear, would be very much appreciated i cant see it being power related as when i run an aireplay test im injecting 100 percent of packets like 34/34 or whatever it is and ive tried it at level 90 power down to 10 powersame error throughout, also dont change no transmit rates and use standard airmon-ng command to load the driver cheers
    Sometimes I try to fit a 16-character string into an 8–byte space, on purpose.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killadaninja View Post
    I tried it pretty close, tron if you could do me a big favour as were running the same soft/hardware, get as far from the ap as you can(say 20 power) and see if you can get this error code 12 wrong essid or wpa to appear, would be very much appreciated i cant see it being power related as when i run an aireplay test im injecting 100 percent of packets like 34/34 or whatever it is and ive tried it at level 90 power down to 10 powersame error throughout, also dont change no transmit rates and use standard airmon-ng command to load the driver cheers
    hey dude! I can help ya out, since I had the same problem ALL the time.
    Look, you just have to put the name of the router between quotes (" ").

    Thats it =)

    I had the same trouble, and everybody was like "you idiot cant you see, your trying it with a WPA encryption" and bla bla

    Tell me then when you got it

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killadaninja View Post
    I tried it pretty close, tron if you could do me a big favour as were running the same soft/hardware, get as far from the ap as you can(say 20 power) and see if you can get this error code 12 wrong essid or wpa to appear, would be very much appreciated i cant see it being power related as when i run an aireplay test im injecting 100 percent of packets like 34/34 or whatever it is and ive tried it at level 90 power down to 10 powersame error throughout, also dont change no transmit rates and use standard airmon-ng command to load the driver cheers
    I apologize for the very late response, but finally got around to try out this scenario for you. I performed a few tests on my WAP, moving further and further away from it, but was unable to recreate the same error code that you mention. Hopefully you have managed to sort out the problem for yourself seeing as your last post regarding this was quite a while ago.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killadaninja View Post
    Hey all, thanks for your imput in advance.
    Im using an awus036h With standard airmon drivers and cant seem to deauth
    is there a known problem here?
    Error code 12, essid or wpa stuff ... probably happen when there is a conflict between the name of the essid, with pwr of 20 or less, its common, try not to put -a command but use only -e during aireplay. Hope this could help you.

  7. #7
    Senior Member secure_it's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    在這兩者之間 BackTrack是4 FwdTrack4
    Posts
    854

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by Vpoint7 View Post
    Error code 12, essid or wpa stuff ... probably happen when there is a conflict between the name of the essid, with pwr of 20 or less, its common, try not to put -a command but use only -e during aireplay. Hope this could help you.
    What is the meaning to re spawn the old thread when problem has not raised again.was that the attempt to increase post-count or what?
    this does not make any sense and avoid it from next time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •