Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: ALFA Networks AWUS036H

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    102

    Default ALFA Networks AWUS036H

    Injection is working very well. 2 minutes to collect 20,000 IVs and successfully cracked the WEP key

    Can only assume WPA is working as well, do not have my laptop with me to test a deauth attack.

    Goes into monitor mode, although does not create mon0

    Code:
    airmon-ng start wlan0
    NOTE

    To get this device to inject over a greater distance then a couple of meters i had to use these commands to bump it up from a txpower of 5dbi (3mw) to 27dbi (501mw)

    Code:
    iwpriv wlan0 highpower 1
    iwconfig wlan0 txpower 27

  2. #2

    Default Re: ALFA Networks AWUS036H

    Oh you lucky guy, i have a couple of problems:

    I try to connect to my wlan using iwconfig and dhclient with the rtl8187 drivers.
    Seems all working but after 10 seconds the connection is dead....

    TUTORIAL: Installing drivers RTL8187, r8187, RT2800usb on UBUNTU 8.10/9.04

    here i read that the rtl8187 drivers would be more stable for surfing the internet than the r8187...in my case not...

    i tried a rmmod rtl8187 and then a modprobe r8187, and see surfing worked perfektly.

    That was yesterday today i booted my machine and tried it again i used once more

    modprobe r8187 then

    FATAL: Error inserting r8187 (/lib/modules....../rtl8187.ko): Invalid module format

    I don't know what i should do, i tried almost everything

    (btw. it worked all well in btpf kernel) were there any changes ?
    Am i the only one with that kind of problem ?

    is that maybee a lenovo ideapad s10e problem ?

    i don't know hopefully someone could help me fixing that

    btw. injection works perfekt

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: ALFA Networks AWUS036H

    All my drivers were fine, just plug & play in both BT4 Final & BT4 Pre Final

    Although some things to note...

    BT4 Pre Built VM Image doesnt use mon0 & doesnt go to 27dbm automatically.

    BT4 Final Iso Built VM goes to 27dbm with

    Code:
    iwconfig wlan0 up
    then airmon creates mon0
    Code:
    airmon-ng start wlan0
    But with the ISO Built VM i am not getting any APs and i have no signal or link.
    At this stage only the pre built vmware image works.
    Last edited by MassAppeal; 01-17-2010 at 05:37 AM.

  4. #4
    Member alacrityathome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    248

    Default Re: ALFA Networks AWUS036H

    Reeth,

    Don't despair! Could be many things....including a bad DVD or install. RTL8187 should be automatic on BT4 after booting up. Then, in the terminal do "start-network" then go to the menu and Internet to start wicd.

    There are different steps with BT since it is intended for penetration testing. To see if your rtl8187 and net connection is working maybe download Ubuntu 9.10 and boot up to test your rtl8187. The other benefit is that it has Net Manager.....different than wicd and it will show if you are using the rtl8187.

    Once you confirm everything is working.....then go to BT4 Final to see if you have a good DVD or hdd install.

    A

  5. #5

    Default Re: ALFA Networks AWUS036H

    Hey, alacrityathome no the dvd is well, same as the hdd installation no troubles.

    I have tried it on 9.10 before all worked...

    So now i'm stiitng here with a freshly new installe BT4 and don't know what to do

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: ALFA Networks AWUS036H

    i have the same problem mates.

    awus036h+ext. antenna work fine under bt4pre.i have a good and stable connection, with bt4 final i get a connection but the speed/quality is really bad.

    any workarounds?

  7. #7
    Member alacrityathome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    248

    Default Re: ALFA Networks AWUS036H

    reeth,

    Sounds like you have the basic ingredients to work. Go to this thread for a good set of inputs on how to go back and forth between rtl8187 and r8187:

    TUTORIAL: Installing drivers RTL8187, r8187, RT2800usb on UBUNTU 8.10/9.04

    And don't forget to have fun!

    A

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: ALFA Networks AWUS036H

    Update

    ISO Image + VMware Install

    To get this card to work the way i wanted i had to do the following
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    The reason why i dont use airmon-ng and create mon0 is because i couldnt change mon0's mac address so i just put wlan0 into monitor mode instead. Works better IMO anyway. My ISO Image doesnt have any iwpriv features, i could only change power when i used
    Code:
    iw reg set US
    but what other problems that causes im not to sure.

    Pre-Built VMware Image

    As said in my first post
    Code:
    airmon-ng start wlan0
    doesnt create the device mon0 it just puts wlan0 into monitor mode. Also it doesnt respond to
    Code:
     iw reg set
    i had to use
    Code:
     iwpriv wlan0 highpower 1
    and then
    Code:
    iwconfig wlan0 txpower 27
    to get a good signal.

    Very weird how they respond differently, but it was still plug and play for me... you guys seem a bit more unlucky then i was.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: ALFA Networks AWUS036H

    hey guys,

    i had problems surfing websites and so on cause there was a really bad connection.
    txpower switch to 27 doesnt solve the problem. for me works to blacklist rtl8187 and working with r8187.

    Code:
    nano /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
    remove
    Code:
    blacklist r8187
    add
    Code:
    blacklist rtl8187
    blacklist mac80211
    blacklist cfg80211
    or just load/unload the modules at runtime.

    the connection quality is shown as 0%, dont know why but it works fine for me.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO siliano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    FR
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: ALFA Networks AWUS036H

    Hello there!

    I had the same problem but now it works. I am using VMware 6.5 and the bt4-VMware.zip file and an Alpha 036h 500mW. With the rtl8187 driver the Monitor mode worked well but not the Injection and it was the same thing with the r8187. First i tryed :
    - rmmod rtl8187
    - modprobe r8187
    - blacklisted the rtl8187 driver. (Note that with the rtl8187 the Monitor mode was enabled on mon0 whereas on the r8187 it just put the wlan0 iface in Manadged mode to Monitor mode, i don't know if it's a good or bad thing.)

    Then i just set the highpower on 1 and and increase the Tx power :
    - iwpriv wlan0 highpower 1
    - iwconfig wlan0 txpower 27

    And it works, i verified with "aireplay-ng --test wlan0". So is it just a problem of card's setting and sensibility and reception ?
    Hope it can help someone, it's my first contribution :]

    P.S : Having made the aireplay-ng's test i deactivated the highpower in case it shall burn out, never know.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •