Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: BT3 USB gives "Boot error"

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default BT3 USB gives "Boot error"

    Okeay, I'm trying to make an BT3 usb boot stick. Got it downloaded from the official page, checked if the md5sum, extracted it to the usb and ran the "BOOTINST.BAT", which says it completed without any complications. However when i try to boot from the usb stick all i get is "Boot error".
    Any suggestions on what this could be?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    46

    Default *

    You should take a look at this thread[1] to learn how to make BT boot from USB. The approach is pretty much the same for Windows as for Linux :)

    [1]: forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=10703

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    306

    Default

    You executed the bootinst.bat on your usb stick, did u?
    On your usb drive you have two folders, boot and bt3? (from my mind)
    And you checked your bios to boot from usb, not only plugged it in?

    It's also possible that you need to remove your U3 Lunchpad (if you use such a stick)

    http://www.u3.com/uninstall/
    Be sensitive in choosing where you ask your question. You are likely to be ignored, or written off as a loser, if you:

    * post your question to a forum where it's off topic
    * post a very elementary question to a forum where advanced technical questions are expected, or vice-versa
    * cross-post to too many different newsgroups
    * post a personal e-mail to somebody who is neither an acquaintance of yours nor personally responsible for solving your problem

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by emily View Post
    ...
    [1]: forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=10703
    Already tried those steps :/

    Quote Originally Posted by terminal86 View Post
    You executed the bootinst.bat on your usb stick, did u?
    Yep

    Quote Originally Posted by terminal86 View Post
    On your usb drive you have two folders, boot and bt3? (from my mind)
    And you checked your bios to boot from usb, not only plugged it in?
    Yeah, I can't see how i can get a boot error if it doesn't. :P

    Quote Originally Posted by terminal86 View Post
    It's also possible that you need to remove your U3 Lunchpad (if you use such a stick)
    I didn't even know what it was, until i read up on it. Nope, I don't have it.

    I'm gonna try the USB on a diffrent computer.. Just for the sake of it.

    Any other ideas? :/

    Hmm.. apparently my laptop doesn't like usb sticks. at least it doesn't like booting from one.
    I got it "working" on my stationary. problem now is that im getting an error message when its starting everything up:

    " *looking for data directory
    Fatal error occured - BT3 data not found.
    ... "

    OH! i got it working now
    thanks guys!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zigs_dk View Post
    OH! i got it working now :D
    What did you do? It's always nice for new readers to see members of the forum write how they solved their problem as well :)

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I'm not sure what I did different from last time I tried my stationary. But I figured that my laptop doesn't like to boot (again, same "boot error"-error). I'm not sure why that is, but since my laptop sucks big ass on so many other levels, it doesn't matter anyway. It works on other computers as well.

    So if anyone else is having this problem, be sure to try it on different computers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •