Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can't boot into anything but flux!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    49

    Exclamation Can't boot into anything but flux!

    Hello

    It seems that I am unable to use any distro (grub) choice in bt3 successfully
    except flux.



    Please fix this in your next BackTrack3 release.

    Thanks in advance,

    Panarchy

    PS: My system specs;

    Case: Antec P182
    Power Supply: T.P.3 Trio Antec True Power 3 Trio PSU
    Motherboard: ASUS P5K-E WiFi
    CPU: Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.4GHz
    Hard-Drives: Maxtor SATA 500GB + (Backup) Western Digital IDE 400GB
    DVD Drive: SATA 20x
    Monitor: ASUS VW222U (22'' LCD)
    Speakers: Altec Lansing VS4121
    Keyboard: Microsoft Ergonomic 4000 (wired)
    Mouse
    : Logitech (wired)
    Graphics Card: GIGABYTE NVidia 8800GTS 512MB
    RAM: Transcend DDR2-800 4GB (2 sticks)

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    33

    Default *

    Quote Originally Posted by Panarchy View Post
    Hello

    It seems that I am unable to use any distro (grub) choice in bt3 successfully
    except flux.
    Because? What happens if you try the other options? Have you tried configuring X in a way that will work with your hardware?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Backtrack can not be configured indivually for everyones system spec. You can try and configure it yourself. Quite possibly your graphics driver isn't installed, run in VESA mode.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    33

    Default *

    Quote Originally Posted by marked View Post
    Backtrack can not be configured indivually for everyones system spec. You can try and configure it yourself. Quite possibly your graphics driver isn't installed, run in VESA mode.
    BT can be configured if you install it on your hard drive ;)

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Fair point, just realised the poster mean't the live CD.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marked View Post
    Backtrack can not be configured indivually for everyones system spec. You can try and configure it yourself. Quite possibly your graphics driver isn't installed, run in VESA mode.
    I've tried it in VESA mode.

    I've tried all options, and the only graphical one that works for me is Flux.

    And yes, I'm using the LiveCD (sorry for any misunderstandings!)

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    33

    Default

    What happens when you try the one with VESA mode?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •