Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ping over wireless

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default ping over wireless

    Hi

    I have followed some great tutorials from this site, which has helped me a great deal.

    I have connected to my WPA2 network, and want to ping other pc's that are also connected to my wireless AP.

    I have th same subnet range as other pc's, ie EEE= 192.168.1.6 and Vista= 192.168.1.5

    would i be right in assuming i need to do something with the resolv.conf file??

    If you someone could point me in the right direction, i would rather try and figure this out, because i think its the better way to learn opposed to being told to bash in a few commands.

    thanks guys!!!

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default

    some outputs:

    bt ~ # arp -n
    Address HWtype HWaddress Flags Mask Iface
    192.168.1.1 ether 00:1F:33:42:6A:34 C ath0

    bt ~ # route -n
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.1.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 ath0
    127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
    0.0.0.0 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 ath0

  3. #3
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    If you want to ping those machines by name then you'd add them to your hosts file. The resolv.conf file is for your DNS servers. If you do not have a local DNS server, then you won't edit it.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  4. #4
    Member hawaii67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    318

    Default

    If you are on the same subnet, no routing is necessary. A ping to the IP address of another conected PC should work "out of the box".
    But sometimes it is possible, depending on the kind of AP you use, to configure your AP that connected clients cannot talk to each other.

    The file resolv.conf is for DNS lookups on liux- or unix-boxes
    Don't eat yellow snow :rolleyes:

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thank you, i will go and have a look at this now!!!

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default

    ok got it working thats for your help!!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •