Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: wifi assistant disconnects

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default wifi assistant disconnects

    hey guys whenever i try to connect to a wireless thru wifi assistant it doesn't connect or it keep connected for 10 sec. and disconnects is there a manual connection or use something else?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 325ci View Post
    hey guys whenever i try to connect to a wireless thru wifi assistant it doesn't connect or it keep connected for 10 sec. and disconnects is there a manual connection or use something else?
    Yeah, use the command line. It's been repeatedly stated that WiFi Assistant generally sucks.
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    well im kind of newbie i do not know the commands for the konsole, any link for it or help on it please? for wpa2 and wep or just opn

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    204

    Default

    whats your wireless card?

    unencrypted for any wireless cards

    ifconfig <interface> up
    iwconfig <interface> essid "ESSID"
    iwconfig <interface> mode Managed
    dhcpcd -nd <interface>

    WEP - any wireless card

    ifconfig <interface> up
    iwconfig <interface> essid "ESSID"
    iwconfig <interface> key HEXKEY
    iwconfig <interface> mode Managed
    dhcpcd -nd <interface>
    *** Note if using ascii key instead of hex key you do the following
    iwconfig <interface> s:asciikey
    WPA with Ralink cards, e.g RT61

    ifconfig <interface> up
    iwconfig <inteface> essid "ESSID"
    iwpriv <interface> set AuthMode=WPAPSK
    iwpriv <interface> set EncrypType=TKIP
    iwpriv <interface> set WPAPSK="WPAPSKKEY"
    dhcpcd -nd <interface>
    WPA with other types of cards e.g R8187

    I use ndiswrapper with the windows driver for 8187, and wpa supplicant

  5. #5
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 325ci View Post
    well im kind of newbie i do not know the commands for the konsole, any link for it or help on it please? for wpa2 and wep or just opn
    This has been covered a LOT. You only need to search. There are a number of posts and tutorials.

    For using WPA search for the term "wpa_supplicant". The wpa_supplicant controls how WPA encryption functions, and what operating parameters (TPIK, AES, etc.) are used.

    To join a WLAN encrypted using WEP, you need to use "iwconfig".

    There is no "opn" type of wireless network. I'm assuming you mean a wireless network that is unencrypted. An "open network" which is a misnomer, as "open" is an authentication type under WEP. To authenticate and join an unencrypted wireless network, you also need to use "iwconfig".

    Understand that you may also need to learn and use other command line programs, such as "ifconfig", "dhcpcd", and "wlanconfig", depending on the brand of card and chipset, and the particulars of the WLAN you are attempting to join.
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    204

    Default

    i agree, it is best to learn the manual way - command line

    I have similar issues with ubuntu and the manual way is much better

    as you advance in your knowledge I'm sure you will learn to do some basic scripting and automate things for yourself

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    waow thank you so much,

    WORKS. Thank you all...

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO Lloir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    i had this problem BUT i figured a small work around...kinda...basically DONT keep the wireless assitant window open as soon as your connected then close it.....also usually takes me 2goes to connect to my own network with it...hope that makes sense and helps

    Lloir

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    204

    Default

    why are u post bumping and trying to get your post count up?

    the mods are not stupid, I'm sure you will be reset to zero if u carry on

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •