Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Problems injecting with ipw2200 (backtrack 3)

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default Problems injecting with ipw2200 (backtrack 3)

    Hi, I'm having a problem with packet injection on a 600m Inspiron. The wireless card is a iwp2200, and I've read many conflicting articles on if it can or cannot inject packets. Most say its possible but requires many patches. I haven't been able to use packet injection on it, so would someone mind helping me with this?

    I used the command:
    aireplay-ng --arpreplay -b xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx -h xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx -i rtap0 eth0

    And I got the following error:

    ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Operation not supported

    ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211,
    ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead. Make
    sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start eth0 <#>'
    Sysfs injection support was not found either.

    I was using this following tutorial:
    forum.warzoneservers.com/showthread.php?t=10215

    I believe the error states that I cannot use packet injection, but I read that BackTrack 3 has the latest patches, so I'm quite lost.

    Thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    JMC31337
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
    Hi, I'm having a problem with packet injection on a 600m Inspiron. The wireless card is a iwp2200, and I've read many conflicting articles on if it can or cannot inject packets. Most say its possible but requires many patches. I haven't been able to use packet injection on it, so would someone mind helping me with this?

    I used the command:
    aireplay-ng --arpreplay -b xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx -h xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx -i rtap0 eth0

    And I got the following error:

    ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Operation not supported

    ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211,
    ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead. Make
    sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start eth0 <#>'
    Sysfs injection support was not found either.

    I was using this following tutorial:
    forum.warzoneservers.com/showthread.php?t=10215

    I believe the error states that I cannot use packet injection, but I read that BackTrack 3 has the latest patches, so I'm quite lost.

    Thanks for any help!
    your lucky i am nicer than most on this forum
    GOOGLE packet injection ipw2200

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default

    i have already, i wouldn't ask if i didn't already google

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
    i have already, i wouldn't ask if i didn't already google
    A fast google search using the word ipw2200 returned a heap of relevant results, among others these:
    http://backtrack.offensive-security....reless#IPW2200
    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=6274
    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=17181
    http://tinyshell.be/aircrackng/forum...p?topic=1775.0
    http://ipw2200.sourceforge.net/
    http://patches.aircrack-ng.org/ipw22...4-inject.patch

    In short the answer to your question is yes, yes it is possible to inject using the ipw2200 card but with some limitations.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default

    sorry if i'm not being clear. my question not if its possible, it is:
    do i still need to patch backtrack 3? is the patch already in place?
    if you read my original post i've already tried the relevant commands but got an error. is it because i still need to patch it, or have the commands changed?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
    sorry if i'm not being clear. my question not if its possible, it is:
    do i still need to patch backtrack 3? is the patch already in place?
    if you read my original post i've already tried the relevant commands but got an error. is it because i still need to patch it, or have the commands changed?
    As far as I understand the patched driver should be included in BT3 by default. Did you use these command before trying to start the aireplay-ng attack?
    Code:
    rmmod ipw2200
    modprobe ipw2200 rtap_iface=1
    ifconfig eth1 up
    ifconfig rtap0 up
    aireplay-ng --arpreplay -b 00:00:00:00:00:00 -h 11:11:11:11:11:11 -i rtap0 eth1
    Also since I noticed that you use the eth0 interface instead of eth1 in your command, do make sure that this indeed is a wireless interface and not your ethernet interface.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks Tron, I indeed did use those commands, I downloaded a more recent ISO and lo and surprise, it works a bit farther.

    However, rtap0 doesn't seem to want to work.
    When I set rtap0 it says its on channel 0.
    Naturally I googled a bit more and found out what fixed most problems is:

    Code:
    modprobe ipw2200 rtap_iface=1 channel=x
    I tried it on my own, the command works, but I get the same error.

    I get this error:
    Code:
    16:14:21  rtap0 is on channel 0, but the AP uses channel 11
    Edit: What seems to be a common problem is that when people enter:
    iwconfig rtap0
    They get:
    rtap0 no wireless extensions.

    Also seems that everyone catches amnesia oh now its fixed... I think this is the last problem before I can inject packets.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
    Thanks Tron, I indeed did use those commands, I downloaded a more recent ISO and lo and surprise, it works a bit farther.
    This would be because BT2 does not include the patched driver, whereas BT3 does.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
    However, rtap0 doesn't seem to want to work.
    When I set rtap0 it says its on channel 0.
    Naturally I googled a bit more and found out what fixed most problems is:

    Code:
    modprobe ipw2200 rtap_iface=1 channel=x
    I tried it on my own, the command works, but I get the same error.

    I get this error:
    Code:
    16:14:21  rtap0 is on channel 0, but the AP uses channel 11
    So I take it that you used the command:
    Code:
     modprobe ipw2200 rtap_iface=1 channel=11
    to change the channel of your interface to the same one that your AP is broadcasting at? As long as you are not running airodump-ng or kismet or any similar program in the background that causes the wireless card to channel hop this should in my opinion indeed solve your problem.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I had backtrack 3, but it was downloaded a while back. Maybe I had a bad download or something?

    The odd thing is that when I used
    Code:
     modprobe ipw2200 rtap_iface=1 channel=11
    The command registered, but there was no change in the channel, because it would still point to it being at channel 0.

    my rtap0 lists that there are
    Code:
    no wireless extensions.
    I have no idea what this means, does it mean that it is unable to be used because its configurated wrong?

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Please help.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •