Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: BT3 Problem booting from CD

  1. #1
    Junior Member azagorath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    44

    Red face BT3 Problem booting from CD

    i have been using BT since version 1 came to life , never had any problems until i got my new machine. the problem is when i put my BT3 CD to boot its stuck at "looking for data directory" at booting.i know nothing wrong with the CD because its the same i used on my old machine .i downloaded a new copy ,check MD5 and still the same problem. i also tried another versions of linux like ubuntu and it went right through .now iam thinking that thier might be somthing wrong with files loading the data directory from the CD.if you guys have any suggests or experience somthing like that please help
    My machine is AMD X2 64 6000+ dual core
    Knowledge is Power

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    41

    Default

    I have the same problem. I still have the BT3beta CD and USB and both of them boot OK.

    I also detect a couple of "unknown keyword in config file" messages in the very first booting, before the boot menu appears, but I don't feel it has anything related with the "looking for data directory issue"

    Laptop is IBM Thinkpad T42

    Any help?

  3. #3
    Junior Member azagorath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    44

    Default

    its really wierd , cuz i tried ubuntu and simply mepis and both CDs booted with no problem , only BT 3 and 2 CD that stuck at looking for directory
    Knowledge is Power

  4. #4
    Junior Member azagorath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    44

    Default

    i think Sata hard drive got somthing to do with
    Knowledge is Power

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    41

    Default Problem solved !

    My problem has been solved...

    The problem was the image I downloaded... it was not correct (much smaller) and I didn't checked the MD5

    I downloaded it again (this time checked that the MD5 was correct), burned the CD again, and it works !

    The two messages in booting are still there, but the system boots. I'll look later on for any possible reason for them and, if corrected, I'll update this post.

  6. #6
    Junior Member azagorath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    44

    Default

    well BT3 boot up after nearly half an hour looking for the data directory but the problem now is it can not detect my hard drive ,its only see DVD Rom.
    nothing in the mount directory and nothing in dev directory exept my ROM only
    total chaos for me , i hate SATA
    Knowledge is Power

  7. #7
    Junior Member azagorath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    44

    Smile

    problem solved ,the problem is backtrack doesnt support some sata hard drives .i connected my old IDE hard drive as a slave with my CDrom "master" and then i booted both windows and linux from the IDE HD instead of using the sata on .i knew it wasnt a problem of a CD ,it backtrack missing my sata hard drive driver.now i can update the sata driver on my installed backtrack
    so for anyone that have same problem.and backtrack can not see your sata HD you will need either linux driver for your sata or to add IDE HD and boot from their and of course dont forget to configure your BIOS to boot from your IDE instead of the sata one.
    Knowledge is Power

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •