Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: [AirePlay-ng] The Interface MAC, doesn't match the....

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    72

    Default [AirePlay-ng] The Interface MAC, doesn't match the....

    Hey!
    Im trying to WEP crack, clientless...
    Ive done this:

    aireplay-ng -3 -b [AP MAC] -h [FAKE MAC] wlan0

    but its saying

    The interface Mac ([WLAN0 MAC ADDRESS]) doesn't match the specified MAC (-h)
    ifconfig wlan0 hw ether [FAKE MAC]
    Saving ARP Requests in ............

    Then its goes on doing it...
    The fake MAC, isn't my USB MAC....

    In all the tuts I read about, they dont get this
    Why am I?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    6

    Default

    that's no problem..

    you want to host from another MAC adress.. so the software changes the mac adres of your usb adapter... so that's what you want!

    grtz
    Pieter

    correct me if i'm wrong on this one..

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    just do this from boot up....

    ifconfig wlan0 down

    macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlano

    ifconfig wlan0 up

    then try airodump and aireplay...dont use that ifconfig wlan0 hw ether [FAKE MAC] use the macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    trouble is I have yet to be succsessful getting on the internet with the faked mac. I can break the wep but then when I try to surf I get"server not found" xploitz have you worked this out somehow yet?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by purehate View Post
    trouble is I have yet to be succsessful getting on the internet with the faked mac. I can break the wep but then when I try to surf I get"server not found" xploitz have you worked this out somehow yet?
    I wish!..lol...Did you read his question right? or mabey I didn't..lol..I think he was saying that he cant inject (nor associate / authenticate)with his AP because of a MAC addy conflict..its like doing the macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0 and then when you try aireplay-ng -3 -b [AP MAC] -h [REAL MAC] or different from 00:11:22:33:44:55] wlan0 you get THIS error ....

    The interface Mac ([WLAN0 MAC ADDRESS]) doesn't match the specified MAC (-h)
    ifconfig wlan0 hw ether [FAKE MAC]
    Saving ARP Requests in ............
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  6. #6
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    No I understood the question I was just taking It one step further since you answered his question but i was wondering if any ones had luck "surfing "with a fake mac. the point is it doesnt do any good to break wep on a AP with mac filtering if afterwards you want to "use" the network and cant because macchanger screws you. I read some where that you must bring the network back up or somthing. In fact I think I linked someone else to the solution once and didnt pay attention myself. duh

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by purehate View Post
    No I understood the question I was just taking It one step further since you answered his question but i was wondering if any ones had luck "surfing "with a fake mac. the point is it doesnt do any good to break wep on a AP with mac filtering if afterwards you want to "use" the network and cant because macchanger screws you. I read some where that you must bring the network back up or somthing. In fact I think I linked someone else to the solution once and didnt pay attention myself. duh
    My bad purehate..I misunderstood you. Sorry. But no...I still cant get a faked mac addy to work on my AP..no card will workwith a faked mac address.

    BTW..your referring to helping Richard Naggin out here....

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/sho...ight=addresses

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Naggin View Post
    When I use a fake mac such as 00:11:22:33:44:55 for my ath0 card, it will not connect no matter what I try. As long as I keep the orginal mac# it works great I also have tried
    iwconfig ath0 mode managed
    ifconfig ath0 down
    iwconfig ath0 essid apname key #
    ifconfig ath0 up
    dhcpcd ath0

    Any suggestions to get to connect when using macchanger

    Thanks!!
    Quote Originally Posted by purehate View Post
    Examples

    # macchanger eth1

    Current MAC: 00:09:a5:eb:23:f7 (Hansung Eletronic Industries Development Co., Ltd)
    Faked MAC: 00:09:a5:eb:23:f8 (Hansung Eletronic Industries Development Co., Ltd)

    # macchanger --endding eth1

    Current MAC: 00:09:a5:eb:23:f8 (Hansung Eletronic Industries Development Co., Ltd)
    Faked MAC: 00:09:a5:6f:31:23 (Hansung Eletronic Industries Development Co., Ltd)

    # macchanger --another eth1

    Current MAC: 00:09:a5:6f:31:23 (Hansung Eletronic Industries Development Co., Ltd)
    Faked MAC: 00:11:18:5b:3a:1f (Blx Ic Design Corp., Ltd.)

    # macchanger -A eth1

    Current MAC: 00:06:5b:f6:f3:48 (Dell Computer Corp.)
    Faked MAC: 00:0d:11:93:0c:4f (Dentsply - Gendex)

    # macchanger -r eth1

    Current MAC: 00:0d:11:93:0c:4f (Dentsply - Gendex)
    Faked MAC: 3c:f1:89:f9:1f:ce (unknown)

    # macchanger --mac=01:23:45:67:89:AB eth1

    Current MAC: 00:40:96:43:87:65 [wireless] (Cisco/Aironet 4800/340)
    Faked MAC: 01:23:45:67:89:ab (unknown)

    # ./macchanger --list=Cray

    Misc MACs:
    Num MAC Vendor
    — — ——
    065 - 00:00:7d - Cray Research Superservers,Inc
    068 - 00:00:80 - Cray Communications (formerly Dowty Network Services)
    317 - 00:40:a6 - Cray Research Inc.

    Here is the list of available options for MAC Changer

    -h, -help

    Show summary of options.

    -V, -version

    Show version of program.

    -e, -endding

    Don’t change the vendor bytes.

    -a, -another

    Set random vendor MAC of the same kind.

    -A Set random vendor MAC of any kind.

    -r, -random

    Set fully random MAC.

    -l, -list[=keyword]

    Print known vendors (with keyword in the vendor’s description string)

    -m, --mac XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX

    Set the MAC XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX

    If you completed the your MAC address changes you need to start the networking service using the following command

    For Debian Users

    #/etc/init.d/networking start

    For Ubuntu Users

    sudo /etc/init.d/networking start

    I diont know if this will work but some fooling with these commands may help. I havent even tried yet so post the results
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Naggin View Post
    I have tried many diffirent ways of using macchanger to connect to my router. but it just wont happen. The wep cracking side of using macchanger works great however it will not connect to the internet using the fake mac. Take the fake mac off, connects perfect. I have tried the suggestions in this forum, I am using a SRC 300 card. with a Toshiba Satellite series laptop that runs BT without problem. You guys have any other sugestions on what might be going on here Thanks PS There is no mac filter on.
    Quote Originally Posted by Xploitz View Post
    yea..I cant get any combo of fake mac addresses to work either..I guess you just cant fake a mac addy and connect..period.
    And I STILL cant get it to work!
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  8. #8
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    yeah that was it .I guess it was not helpful. It kinda sucks but when i test with mac filtering I break the wep then reboot into winblows and use SMAC from there which works perfectly. the problem then is that I cant use backtrack tools I can only use whas available for windows. I mean its not all bad I mean I have cain,wireshark, ettercap and metasploit 3 but I'm in love with backtrack and the slax distro.........aahh well If any one can shed some light on the problem.

    plus what the problem with the ifconfig hw ether command. i havent tried it .is it no good?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by purehate View Post

    plus what the problem with the ifconfig hw ether command. i havent tried it .is it no good?
    It didnt work for me using my WG111v2..had to use macchanger

    Now I use my dual antennaed Airlink AWLC4130 with the atheros SUPRE G ..its awesome! And i haven't tested hw ether with it.
    [CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=5][B][COLOR=blue][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]--=[/COLOR][/FONT]Xploitz[FONT=Courier New][COLOR=red]=--[/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/B][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Courier New][COLOR=Black][SIZE=6][B] ®[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR][/FONT][/CENTER]
    [CENTER][SIZE=4][B]Remote-Exploit.orgs Master Tutorialist.[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=6][B]™
    [/B][/SIZE]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063"][B]VIDEO: Volume #1 "E-Z No Client WEP Cracking Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7872"][B]VIDEO: Volume #2 "E-Z No Client Korek Chopchop Attack Tutorial"[/B]
    [/URL]
    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8230"][B]VIDEO: Volume #3 "E-Z WPA/WPA2 Cracking Tutorial"[/B][/URL]

    [URL="http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=8041"][B]VIDEO: Volume #4 "E-Z Cracking WPA/WPA2 With Airolib-ng Databases"[/B][/URL]
    [/CENTER]

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default doesn't match the specified MAC

    i have the same kind of problem

    first of all....i use integrated ipw220 wireless card!

    bt ~ # airmon-ng stop eth1


    Interface Chipset Driver

    eth1 Centrino b/g ipw2200 (monitor mode disabled)

    bt ~ # ifconfig eth1 down
    bt ~ # macchanger -m 00:11:22:33:44:55 eth1
    Current MAC: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx (Intel Corp)
    Faked MAC: 00:11:22:33:44:55 (Cimsys Inc)
    bt ~ # airmon-ng start eth1


    Interface Chipset Driver

    eth1 Centrino b/g ipw2200 (monitor mode enabled)


    1. why i dont get any data?
    BSSID PWR RXQ Beacons #Data, #/s CH MB ENC CIPHER AUTH ESSID

    00:xx:39:xx:67:xx 186 33 964 0 0 6 54 WEP WEP linksys

    BSSID STATION PWR Rate Lost Packets Probes



    2.i have tried original mac and facke mac aswell, restult was the exact the same??

    aireplay-ng -1 0 -a 00:xx:39:8E:xx:xx -h 00:11:22:33:44:55 -e linksys eth1
    The interface MAC (00:00:00:00:00:00) doesn't match the specified MAC (-h).
    ifconfig eth1 hw ether 00:11:22:33:44:55
    11:00:04 Waiting for beacon frame (BSSID: 00:xx:xx:8E:67:xx) on channel 6

    11:00:04 Sending Authentication Request (Open System)

    11:00:06 Sending Authentication Request (Open System)


    i'll be grateful if somebody help me soon.

    R

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •