Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Acer Aspire One D150-0Br

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Acer Aspire One D150-0Br

    Hello ! Here goes my report:

    Acer Aspire One D150-0Br

    Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114
    Windows 7 driver 1.0.0.18 (C:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\L1E62x86.sys)

    Status:
    Wi-fi not working. Not even normal mode. Can't get it to work.

    I'll search the web and post possible solutions (if any)

    Greets !

    PS: Please visit the correct thread (I missed identifying thie correct adapter an it is Broadcom 802.11bg not Atheros)
    URL --- > http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...-d150-0br.html
    Last edited by menosesmas; 01-16-2010 at 01:53 PM.

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default Re: Acer Aspire One D150-0Br

    Quote Originally Posted by menosesmas View Post
    Hello ! Here goes my report:

    Acer Aspire One D150-0Br

    Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114
    Windows 7 driver 1.0.0.18 (C:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\L1E62x86.sys)

    Status:
    Wi-fi not working. Not even normal mode. Can't get it to work.

    I'll search the web and post possible solutions (if any)

    Greets !
    The wifi will never function correctly if you are using a windows driver in linux.
    You need to be looking at using one of the following drivers (I cannot say which as I don't know off hand what capabilities the card has)
    madwifi
    ath5k
    ath9k

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Acer Aspire One D150-0Br

    hi man

    you must first start the network.

    start> services> network> start network

    and then click on:

    start> internet> wcid network manager

    that chould do the job

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Acer Aspire One D150-0Br

    Quote Originally Posted by balding_parrot View Post
    The wifi will never function correctly if you are using a windows driver in linux.
    Firstly : Thanks for your quick response !

    In fact, I'm not using the Windows driver in Linux: just wrote down the Windows driver to help to identify the adapter (noob error ) ... but it was better to execute in Linux Console:
    Code:
    lspci -nn
    BT4 does not support this adapter natively, so I tried to find other drvers and modify BT4 with no luck yet (here is what I did so far):
    - Downloaded "compat-wireless-2.6.33-rc4.tar.bz2"
    - Changed "syslinux.cfg" on the BT4 (pendrive installation) to set Persistent Changes (changed "nopersistent" for "persistent")
    - Booted BT4 and tried to install drivers following the instructions in:
    HTML Code:
    http://www.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=compat-wireless
    - Installation went OK except for an error about Modules linking (?)
    - Rebooted ... Wifi did not work again. Also other things that worked Ok before installation did not work now (i.e. storage drives did not work).

    I'll keep searching

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    /home
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Acer Aspire One D150-0Br

    from the old forums: how to get atheros working in bt4 pre-final
    i'm not sure if its gonna work in final, but if it does, can you post it here?
    Backtrack Atheros,Attansic and Acer Fix - Remote Exploit Forums
    Aquillar> hey, you guys ever play kmem russian roulette?
    Agnostos> I don't believe I have. care to explain the details?
    Aquillar> dd if=/dev/urandom of=/dev/kmem bs=1 count=1 seek=$RANDOM
    Aquillar> keep executing until system crashes
    Aquillar> person that crashes system has to buy beer
    Agnostos> lol
    Agnostos> I wonder if I can sneak that into a server startup script here.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Acer Aspire One D150-0Br

    Any updates with this? I am in the same boat with my Acer Aspire One

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    /home
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Acer Aspire One D150-0Br

    Quote Originally Posted by oxygen View Post
    Any updates with this? I am in the same boat with my Acer Aspire One
    no offense, but did you even read my post?
    try it, see if it works
    Aquillar> hey, you guys ever play kmem russian roulette?
    Agnostos> I don't believe I have. care to explain the details?
    Aquillar> dd if=/dev/urandom of=/dev/kmem bs=1 count=1 seek=$RANDOM
    Aquillar> keep executing until system crashes
    Aquillar> person that crashes system has to buy beer
    Agnostos> lol
    Agnostos> I wonder if I can sneak that into a server startup script here.

Similar Threads

  1. Acer Aspire 5532
    By ChrisTesla4 in forum HardWare Compatibility List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-2010, 05:31 PM
  2. Acer Aspire One ZG5
    By blackhorse in forum HardWare Compatibility List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-14-2010, 06:57 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •