Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Acer netbook aspire one install guide aoa150-1570

  1. #1
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    328

    Cool

    UPDATE 1:49 PM 7/25/2009 : YAY new BIOS 3310 ! does not allow to boot from SD and after I installed 3309 I started to have wifi issues.... even with base install etc ..http://www.theacerguy.com/2008/08/wi...he-aspire-one/ I also tried the F7 to disable ACPI/APM etc that totaly @W#$%ed it it would pegg the cpu with interrupts

    http://global-download.acer.com/GDFi...&LC=en&SC=PA_6

    UPDATE: 2:10 PM 5/11/2009 : date changed on 3309 .... same flash they just repacked it with a stupid PDF

    http://global-download.acer.com/GDFi...&LC=en&SC=PA_6

    dated Acer BIOS 3309 954.5 KB 2009/03/20


    ACER NETBOOK ASPIRE ONE INSTALL GUIDE AOA150-1570 !
    UPDATE 6:12 PM 1/27/2009 : so as of 3309 flash update still can't boot from SD slots

    this is easy way to update the flash and also maybe install XP ....

    http://rmccurdy.com/scripts/acerflashkit.zip


    Code:
    * format USB stick as FAT NOT USB HDD !!!
    * install SP27608.exe
    * load up HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool
    * format it using the .\acerflashkit\win98boot
    * copy the bios files into the root of the usb stick
    * boot and run whatever.bat im my case its 3309.bat
    
    rmccurdy.com
    NOTE: EVEN with latest BIOS as of 10/20/2008 you can't boot from SD card ... WTF ....

    WHAT YOU NEED:
    * windows xp cd ( go find torrent if need be dont forget WGA ;P ) ( my nlite CD worked fine but it did not pick up my settings and keys etc .. the boot builder overwrites it some how)
    * USB Flash drive ( I could not get it to boot with a HDD .. )
    * USB of the latest BT !

    1
    first download the drivers:
    * http://us.acer.com
    * service and support
    * Driver Download
    * notbook > select 'Aspire one'
    wifi card:http://www.acerpanam.com/synapse/dat...v7.6.0.224.zip
    card reader http://www.acerpanam.com/synapse/dat...1.00.16.01.zip
    bios: http://www.acerpanam.com/synapse/dat...s/ZG5_3304.zip http://macles.blogspot.com/2008/08/a...-recovery.html
    chip set driver: http://www.acerpanam.com/synapse/dat...8.3.0.1018.zip
    nic: http://www.acerpanam.com/synapse/dat...8.3.0.1018.zip
    video: http://www.acerpanam.com/synapse/dat...14.10.4926.zip
    audio: http://www.acerpanam.com/synapse/dat....10.0.5628.zip
    webcam: http://www.acerpanam.com/synapse/dat..._V.1.0.1.3.zip


    my realtek drivers : RTL8187 :
    http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...=true#RTL8187L


    2 ( optional )
    make mountable ISO file of all the drivers extracted for EASY driver install !

    * extract all the zip files to one folder
    now download download ultra ISO or use nero to burn a ISO ( NOT NRG ) file.


    3 install windows/add ISO to flash drive


    http://www.eeeguides.com/2007/11/ins...usb-thumb.html

    * NOTE: I had to use a flash drive not a external HDD for some reason it was different and files would not copy for install !
    also read the whole guide don't skim over it !

    * NOTE: after you make the boot install copy the ISO along with deamon tools ( the older one 3.7 I think it is not the one with malware on it ... or what ever iso mount app you want )

    4 Drivers
    download deamon tools and mount the ISO and tell windows to search for the drivers wala if not the video drivers are a little tricky I had to point it to .\intelvideo_somcrap\graphics\ or something

    also dont forget the webcam drivers !

    5 BT USB


    download the USB BT3 final use the changes guides on this site or search the forums !
    http://del.icio.us/opreat0r/backtrack

    NOTE: BT boots perfect altho I had to delete my old changes folder for it to boot the changes were from a thinkpad so maybe that had something to do with it.
    NOTE: EVEN with latest BIOS as of 10/20/2008 you can't boot from SD card ... WTF ....

    6 BACK UP

    once you have it all setup perfect for a week or two back the freaking thing up .. god knows it took me about 4hrs to get it all right...
    use clonezilla or PING to backup the entire disk to an external USB drive or something. If you are new to USB boot it will be a pain to get it working but you know ..

    BT 3 USB install works great with aircard etc.. other then the warning at the beginning about screen size

    Response (Online Agent-12) 11/10/2008 02:19 PM
    Dear Robert McCurdy,



    Thank you for contacting Acer America. We appreciate your interest in our online support. Currently, all technical support for the Aspire One product is only provided by our telephone support staff at 1-800-816-2237. Hours of operation for live support are from 7am-9pm CST Mon-Fri and 8:00am - 5:00pm CST Sat & Sun, excluding holidays. Currently we are experiencing high call volume, so please expect your hold time to be longer than normal. It will help to expedite your call if you have the following information available in front of you when you call in: Your contact information, physical shipping address (no PO boxes are accepted), your Acer product.


    Respectfully,
    Acer America
    Online Technical Support

    Customer (Robert McCurdy) 11/10/2008 12:22 PM
    I would like to know when the next BIOS firmware will be posted to fix the not booting from SD card... Seems pointless to have not one but TWO SD slots but not able to boot from them ....

    PN: AOA150-1570
    SN: NA I do not have the unit with me here.

    Here is my post online about my workings with the Apire ONE and
    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/sho...538#post103538

    Idiots ...

    not the 12 boot something else a PM not what I want but may be usful to you guys

    Code:
     shortbaldaznguy  shortbaldaznguy is offline
    Just burned his ISO
              
    Join Date: Aug 2006
    Posts: 0
    Default aspire one
    hey,
    
    not sure if you've already figured this out (searched the forums a bit), but i've been able to boot my aspire one from the sdhc card. unfortunately, i'm just a lurker in these forums and a total noob at *nix and can't get my aspire to boot bt3 from sdhc, was only able to do it with ubuntu (winxp on ssd, and ubuntu on sdhc). i was thinkin maybe you know more about grub and bt3 to get it to work. i found instructions at the below link to get my aspire to boot from the sdhc >>>
    
    http://www.osnews.com/story/20743/Eeebuntu_2_0_SD_Card_Installation_on_the_Aspire_One
    
    when i try to do the above instructions with bt3, and replace the uuid with the sdcard (blkid to get the uuid) and boot, i get a few errors that it can't find some files, my syntax in grub is probably garbage, but maybe you can figure it out. anyway, didn't want to put garbage in your thread, so i pm'ed u. let me know if any of this helps or if you figure it out another way. thanks for the aspire one article btw!
    
    -khoi
    I will update this thread as I see new firmware out

  2. #2
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    328

    Default

    UPDATE 1:49 PM 7/25/2009 : YAY new BIOS 3310 ! I will update this forum if it allows for boot to SD card ! http://global-download.acer.com/GDFi...&LC=en&SC=PA_6

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Dead Link?

    The link appears to be dead. Being another AA1 user, I was anxious to read about the updates.

    I just checked the 'support.acer-euro.com' website and ftp server and they are still only showing BIOS 3309 avail for download.

    Perhaps Acer retracted it?

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shifty21 View Post
    The link appears to be dead. Being another AA1 user, I was anxious to read about the updates.

    I just checked the 'support.acer-euro.com' website and ftp server and they are still only showing BIOS 3309 avail for download.

    Perhaps Acer retracted it?
    Nevermind the link in the other post worked.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    76

    Default

    I was wondering if the SD card are working with BT4pf and AOA?

    mines are not working any help

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by manulu View Post
    I was wondering if the SD card are working with BT4pf and AOA?

    mines are not working any help
    Doesn't have to do with BT4...we have to wait for a firmware update for the Acer to boot from the sd slot. Until then...no.

    You should give VMWare Player a go. I've switched to that and it works good.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default aspire one bios crash

    I have an acer one aspire which had a bios failure, which I managed to sort out the first time with a flash, but now it has done it again, probably more seriously.
    I have tried a few times to rectify it, and have given up and bought another computer.
    I reckon the acer is a below standard product anyway.
    However, what I wanted to say is to thank you and the other fellows who patiently try to help us novices out, with all your advice and care.
    I am sure that when guys get their problems sorted they disappear to enjoy their reinstated boxes, so thank you for all of them.
    Cheers
    Chris

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •