Thread: Vmware Workstation Lab:

Default Vmware Workstation Lab:

Has anyone ever set up a vmware lab involving more than one virtual machine to pen test on instead of a real-life lab at home? I was just wondering if it was theoretically possible and doesn't outweigh the effort of making a real-life lab.

e.g. Fedora Server hosts: ftp/ssh/apache / a basic unpatched XP home computer. running at the same time.

I'm pretty sure if you search you'll find info on this.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

Angry

Here is some interesting information for anyone wanting to try a vmware lab:
    ethicalhacker.net/content/view/63/2/

That's about the only indepth one I could find googling. If anyone has any experience with experimenting in this fashion, that would like to contribute to this thread, please do so. It sounds like many of you don't bother with vmware and just set up real pen labs.

Quote Originally Posted by nokuku4u View Post
    Here is some interesting information for anyone wanting to try a vmware lab:
    ethicalhacker.net/content/view/63/2/

That's about the only indepth one I could find googling. If anyone has any experience with experimenting in this fashion, that would like to contribute to this thread, please do so. It sounds like many of you don't bother with vmware and just set up real pen labs.
    There actually was a thread around here on this subject but I can't find it.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69