Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: swaping sda2

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    24

    Default swaping sda2

    Hi there,

    I'm trying to install backtrack 3 on my laptop. I followed the advice on how to install backtrack 3 final from this link: hxxp://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=14751&page=11
    I have three partitions. Sda1 is 68gb, sda2 is 2-3 gb, and sda 4 is 2-3 gb. When I try to swap sda2 I get this error:

    Code:
    bt ~ # mkswap /dev/sda2
    mkswap: error: swap area needs to be at least 40kB
    Usage: mkswap [-c] [-v0|-v1] [-pPAGESZ] [-L label] /dev/name [blocks]
    Any help plz?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Did you first set the type to 82 (Linux swap)?
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thorn View Post
    Did you first set the type to 82 (Linux swap)?
    I set them to linux swap. Now here is my problem

    Code:
    bt ~ # mkswap /dev/sda3
    Setting up swapspace version 1, size = 2500481 kB
    no label, UUID=ec2ac444-bf91-420c-a70a-c56d3973d0b2

  4. #4
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    What tool did you use to make the partitions?
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    24

    Default

    I used gparted to partition my hardrive.

  6. #6
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mike22 View Post
    I set them to linux swap. Now here is my problem

    Code:
    bt ~ # mkswap /dev/sda3
    Setting up swapspace version 1, size = 2500481 kB
    no label, UUID=ec2ac444-bf91-420c-a70a-c56d3973d0b2
    I don't think that's really a problem. It's just telling you it set up swap on sda3. The UUID is the drives Universally Unique Identifier. UUIDs are better for machines with lots of drive changes(usb and whatnot) as the UUID never changes, but the mount id (sda, hda, whatever) may change.

    I don't think backtrack used uuids, did you use ubuntu or a newer debian machine?
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  7. #7
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mike22 View Post
    I used gparted to partition my hardrive.
    "Well, there's your problem!"
    - Mythbusters

    I'd suggest using fdisk, and using that to set the types. Then use mkfs and mkswap to make the appropriate file structures.

    Edit: Barry is right though. It doesn't really look to be an error message. You can probably proceed with the install.
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    24

    Default

    I proceeded with the installation. Now I get this message:

    Code:
    bt ~ # mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/backtrack/
    /dev/sda3 looks like swapspace - not mounted
    mount: you must specify the filesystem type
    bt ~ #

    Thanks for the help btw.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Thorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The Green Dome
    Posts
    1,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mike22 View Post
    I proceeded with the installation. Now I get this message:

    Code:
    bt ~ # mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/backtrack/
    /dev/sda3 looks like swapspace - not mounted
    mount: you must specify the filesystem type
    bt ~ #

    Thanks for the help btw.
    Huh? You don't want to mount a swap partition!

    Swap space should be recognized by the system during the install and used as needed.
    Thorn
    Stop the TSA now! Boycott the airlines.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thorn View Post
    Huh? You don't want to mount a swap partition!

    Swap space should be recognized by the system during the install and used as needed.
    Sorry I'm a little confused. Instead of following the direction to install backtrack 3 from this thread http://forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=14751
    I decided to install from this link
    http://209.85.173.104/search?q=cache...ient=firefox-a

    The only problem with following the later direction, is will it really erase all my information on my drive?

    Is there a difference between the two instruction or will they both erase my drive?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •