Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: connecting to a wireless network

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default connecting to a wireless network

    Hey there, I am trying to connect to my wireless network at home. The wireless assistant says it can not find a wireless network, although, if i run kismet it finds my wireless network and associated Essid and many others, some of which are unsecure. I am simply trying to connect to my wireless internet. I am using a HP dv5000 laptop.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I have now did more research and found out that using teh wireless app gui interface, I am able to connect to non-secured wireless networks. I have tried the following commands to enable connectivity with my WPA-PSK AP.

    ifconfig wlan0 down
    iwconfig wlan0 essid Green key "s: passphrase"
    ifconfig wlan0 up

    ifconfig wlan0 down
    iwconfig wlan0 essid Green key passphrase
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    dhcpcd wlan0

    I can seem to connect using a GUI interface to a non secured network. However, when I try to input or connecrt to a WPA-PSK network via the command prompt or the GUI, I seem to hang up. Any suggestions? An app tells me that I can see roughly six wireless networks, some secured and some not. I am operating on the standard channel 6.

    (no space btwn s: p )

    //Create a text based file called wpa_supplicant.conf

    Enter the following:

    network={
    essid="nameofnetwork"
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    proto=WPA
    pairwise=TKIP
    group=TKIP
    psk="WPApassphrase"
    }

    Where nameofnetwork is your essid and psk is your WPA pre-shared key!


    Then run the wpa_supplicant tool.

    wpa_supplicant -D madwifi -i ath0 -c wpa_supplicant.conf

    This will need altering depending on what chipset and drivers you are using. The above should work for an Atheros card.

    Saying all of the above about WPA configurations, I have had many problems with it on BackTrack. If someone else has other suggestions, please post here. Also, please post setup commands for other types of wireless cards.
    //
    wpa-supplicant tool u can find in backtrack? Alright. However, isn't madwifi a driver for a particular wireless card? I don't seem to have a problem connecting to unsecured wireless networks, so I;m not sure if driver issues is really the issue. Help would be appreciated thx

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    306

    Default

    hey teh,
    did u have a look to -=Xploitz=- nice tutorial?
    hxxp:// forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=7482&highlight=wpa+supplicant
    In your Quote u post another tut that already answers your question to the drivers:
    This will need altering depending on what chipset and drivers you are using.
    Hope you get it done.

    <terminal86>

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for the reply. I had much success until I tried to start the dhcp wlan0.
    says something about my dhcp not being configured right. even tho i did that dhcpcd wlan0.
    hmm, tx for the reference, im sure ill figure it out. Any other insight is good!
    tx

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by terminal86 View Post
    hey teh,
    did u have a look to -=Xploitz=- nice tutorial?

    In your Quote u post another tut that already answers your question to the drivers:


    Hope you get it done.

    <terminal86>
    Thx for that. I have an issue with that though. When I try to set up a dhcp it says that its invalid etc. I can't seem to modify it, when its asking for a subnet mask.. im using the standard 10.0.0.1 gateway, i read something about that.
    Any issues other ppl have had with that too? The rest of the guide worked perfect, just that last step.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Anyone have a solution to this issue?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    190

    Default

    take a look at your /etc/dhcpd.conf file

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Also have this same problem. As do other people it seems (showthread.php?t=16605).

    I tried running wpa_supplicant -D madwifi -i ra0 -c wpa_supplicant.conf
    To which I was greated with "Unsupported driver 'madwifi'"
    Which doesn't look good o_0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •