Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Backtrack Network Manager script: automatic eth0 settings for BT3

  1. #1
    Member M1ck3y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lost in the darkness
    Posts
    72

    Default Backtrack Network Manager script: automatic eth0 settings for BT3

    Backtrack 3 Final does not include the utility formerly known as "set ip address" in BT2. This handy utility could easily configure Ethernet network card eth0. To remedy this problem, I just made a little script that I give you: Backtrack Network Manager.

    First, download Backtrack Network Manager:

    -Backtrack Network Manager (in french)
    -Backtrack Network Manager (in english)

    Ok, so here is a little explanation about how to use this tool and what it can do:

    It's a shell script, so you must make it executable, right click on it (the script is called network.sh), properties, permissions, "is executable", yes. Now that the script is executable, you can put it in /usr/bin, so you can use it in a shell, wherever you are. Open a shell and:

    Code:
    network.sh
    All you have to do is select your option, and enter the informations asked, the script will configure your eth0 card for you.

    Here is the menu:



    The script allows:

    - Activate/desactivate eth0
    - Display eth0 informations
    - Set ip address, subnet mask and gateway for eth0
    - Configure the dns server for eth0
    - Activate the dhcp for eth0
    - Test the network with a ping

    Everything is almost automatic.

    You can find more details about the script here: Backtrack Network Manager little how to (in french). You can use the translation tools available for free on the net to translate that.

    Of course, the script is very simple and can be improved, but it is already a functional basis, which I hope, can help
    Last edited by M1ck3y; 08-05-2010 at 09:50 PM.
    --~ Internet is in the air we are breathing, so it should be free for everyone. We'll get there, just wait and see... ~--

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    thanks dude..

    it really help me.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    56

    Default

    ermm.. that script for setting IP address is present in BT3 too. It's just that the developers haven't given the shortcut
    The path is:-

    /usr/share/slax/

    It should be named network-config.kmdr

    or something like that
    [FONT="System"][COLOR="DarkSlateBlue"][B]I am not arrogant, just better than you.[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]

  4. #4
    Member hawaii67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    318

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by snake eyes View Post
    ermm.. that script for setting IP address is present in BT3 too. It's just that the developers haven't given the shortcut
    The path is:-

    /usr/share/slax/

    It should be named network-config.kmdr

    or something like that
    Right, and if you wonder how to invoke the script:

    Code:
    kmdr-executor network-conf.kmdr
    Don't eat yellow snow :rolleyes:

  5. #5
    Member M1ck3y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Lost in the darkness
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Thanks for the tip

    I will keep on using my little script, since I have worked on it and it has other useful options. I hope it will help noobs and lazy people like me...
    --~ Internet is in the air we are breathing, so it should be free for everyone. We'll get there, just wait and see... ~--

  6. #6
    Junior Member imported_fridash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    51

    Default

    works great!! thanks micky..

    ill edit the script since mine is wlan0

    CHEERS

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks ,it works perfect!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •