Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: WEP Cracking Issue

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    25

    Default WEP Cracking Issue

    So, I tried to crack into MY OWN WEP network, using this tutorial.

    forums.remote-exploit.org/showthread.php?t=9063

    And here is what I got
    amphosted.com/WEP/snapshot1.png

    Says "Wlan0 is on channel 6, but AP uses chanel 1"
    How can I make AP use channel 6?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    194

    Default

    Firstly, you're trying to crack a WPA AP, not a WEP AP. That'll be your first hurdle.

    Secondly, the airodump-ng has an argument to set the channel of the wireless card. For example:

    airodump-ng -c 6 ath0

    If that doesn't work, set it via:

    iwconfig ath0 channel 6

  3. #3
    Senior Member ShadowKill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theberries View Post
    ....
    airodump-ng -c 6 ath0

    If that doesn't work, set it via:

    iwconfig ath0 channel 6
    Using the channel of the AP of course (in your case channel 1) and the correct card name (again, in your case wlan0)



    "The goal of every man should be to continue living even after he can no longer draw breath."

    ~ShadowKill

  4. #4
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    NO !

    please read carefully the post before answer !

    "Wlan0 is on channel 6, but AP uses channel 1"

    card (wlan0) is on channel 6 BUT AP(access-point) is on channel 1

    so he needs to get the card in monitor mode using his preffered method
    and then he will needs to set the CARD on channel 1

    iwconfig wlan0 channel 1 rate 2M

    now he will need to start airodump-ng on channel 1

    airodump-ng -c 1 -w CAPTUREFILEPREFIX CARD
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    306

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theberries View Post
    Firstly, you're trying to crack a WPA AP, not a WEP AP. That'll be your first hurdle.

    Secondly, the airodump-ng has an argument to set the channel of the wireless card. For example:

    airodump-ng -c 6 ath0

    If that doesn't work, set it via:

    iwconfig ath0 channel 6
    I assume that this is what he wanted to know, but his orginal question was:

    How can I make AP use channel 6?
    So we have to answer: open the Webinterface of your AP (e.g. type 192.168.0.1 in your browser)
    Search for the wireless settings, and change the Channel to the one of your choice.

    greez

    edit: Hm, there were some faster (better) answers
    Be sensitive in choosing where you ask your question. You are likely to be ignored, or written off as a loser, if you:

    * post your question to a forum where it's off topic
    * post a very elementary question to a forum where advanced technical questions are expected, or vice-versa
    * cross-post to too many different newsgroups
    * post a personal e-mail to somebody who is neither an acquaintance of yours nor personally responsible for solving your problem

  6. #6
    Senior Member ShadowKill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Beat you to it Shamz



    "The goal of every man should be to continue living even after he can no longer draw breath."

    ~ShadowKill

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    194

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowKill View Post
    Using the channel of the AP of course (in your case channel 1) and the correct card name (again, in your case wlan0)
    ahh, indeed :P Er, um, didn't want to spoonfeed him too much...

    yeah so it would be:

    airodump-ng -c 1 wlan0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •