Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: using backtrack as a daily use linux distro

Default using backtrack as a daily use linux distro

Hi everyone,

Can I use backtrack as a daily use linux distro. I mean I am a part time security researcher and backtract is a full fledged linux distro, so is it a must that it should be used only for pentesting? Can't it be used in daily tasks...

what I intend to do is that I will install "only" BT3 on my laptop and I'll use it as a general linux distro in the day and as a security toolkit in the night

Please express your opinion on the concept...

Thanks
    shakuni

Quote Originally Posted by shakuni View Post
    Hi everyone,

Can I use backtrack as a daily use linux distro. I mean I am a part time security researcher and backtract is a full fledged linux distro, so is it a must that it should be used only for pentesting? Can't it be used in daily tasks...

what I intend to do is that I will install "only" BT3 on my laptop and I'll use it as a general linux distro in the day and as a security toolkit in the night

Thanks
    shakuni
    You can most definately use it as a stand alone OS, albeit that wasn't what it was designed for, but it is possible. Just follow on eof the many guides on installing to HDD and away you go. You may find that there are some dependancies and/or day-to-day apps that are missing (OpenOffice etc) so some updating is required, but for the most part it should suit your needs just fine.

"The goal of every man should be to continue living even after he can no longer draw breath."

~ShadowKill

Hi everyone,

Can I use backtrack as a daily use linux distro.
    Firstly, we have no idea what you "can" do. You know your abilities, you decide. Secondly "can" and "should" are very different things.

Aside from there fact that it wasn't designed to be a daily use distro there isn't anything that would prevent you from using it as such. It will just take longer to setup and make friendly for such use.