Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Again display trouble in BT3

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    44

    Default Again display trouble in BT3

    I am using Sony Vaio VNG-A617M laptop which has ATI display card in it. I had some trouble in BT2 installation before (in that time BT was completely a new thing to me), at the end I've found driver and solved the problem with ati.lzm.

    Now in BT3, when I am trying to open BT3 with the same computer, the screen is completely blank. I've tried in every opening option but there were no screen.

    At the end -as a matter of chance- I realized that display is going to VGA (ext.display) . When I connect the projector to my laptop I can see the startx screen perfect from the wall (with projection). But I couldn't find a way to return the picture to my laptop's monitor. It is always complete black.

    What should I do?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default heya

    did you write your xorg.conf on your own ? did you try to use the vesa conf ? please post your xorg.conf . As you mentionend your display is starting to get black when you "startx" so i think it maybe you installed new drivers and didn change em like the standart nvidia drivers are called "nv" in xorg and after installing the proper drivers i had to change to "nvidia".

    I'm also having a problem with my screen(s) Using 2 displays The external samsung display is working fine but the display of my laptop is waaaay to dark i tried to light it up by changing the Gamma value in the xorg.conf - didn help much just a slight difference -
    then i tried to use xgamma didn help much either if you know anything please let me help for info here my xorg.conf (which was configured by the nvidia setup )

    i also found one thing surprising the 3.rd Section Device with the identifier "card0".


    Code:
    # nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
    # nvidia-settings:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder3)  Thu Feb 14 18:21:33 PST 2008
    
    # nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
    # nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder3)  Thu Feb 14 18:20:37 PST 2008
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "X.org Configured"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
        RgbPath         "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
        ModulePath      "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
        FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
        FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
        FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
        FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
        FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Load           "dbe"
        Load           "extmod"
        Load           "glx"
        Load           "record"
        Load           "xtrap"
        Load           "freetype"
        Load           "type1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "Samsung S/M 755DFT"
        HorizSync       30.0 - 85.0
        VertRefresh     50.0 - 160.0
        Option         "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor1"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "Samsung S/M 755DFT"
        HorizSync       30.0 - 85.0
        VertRefresh     50.0 - 160.0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Card0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "nVidia Corporation"
        BoardName      "NV34M [GeForce FX Go5200 32M/64M]"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Videocard0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce FX Go5200 32M/64M"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Videocard1"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce FX Go5200 32M/64M"
        BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
        Screen          1
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    # Removed Option "TwinView" "0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP: 1280x800 +0+0"
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +1280+0, DFP: 1280x800 +0+0"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Videocard0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "1"
        Option         "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +0+0, DFP: 1280x800 +1280+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    
    # Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
        Identifier     "Screen1"
        Device         "Videocard1"
        Monitor        "Monitor1"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
        Option         "metamodes" "CRT: 1280x1024 +0+0"
    EndSection

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    44

    Default

    in which step I should write my xorg.conf?

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2

    Talking

    I have a sony vaio WGN-FW11ZU, and it will only run if i select the 3rd option down in the boot menu, i think its called "VEGU" mode or it might be "WEGO"?

    the other two just give me a blank screen and wont work, have you tried the 3rd one down?

    cheers

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Isn't there any other help(s). I still couldn't solve the problem..it drives me crazyyy!

  6. #6
    Member wick86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by damlayss View Post
    Isn't there any other help(s). I still couldn't solve the problem..it drives me crazyyy!
    This worked for me download the latest drivers from ati then
    Code:
    chmod -x ati-driver-installer-xx.xx.xx.run
    x=version

    Code:
    ./ati-driver-installer-xx.xx.xx.run
    chose to install automatically

    then run
    Code:
    aticonfig --initial
    now you need to edit your xorg.conf

    Code:
    vim /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    and add these two sections

    Code:
    Section "Extensions"
       Option       "Composite" 
       Option       "Damage" "False"
     EndSection
    Code:
    Section "DRI"
       Group      "0"
       Mode       0666
     EndSection
    now just restart X CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE and that should do it at lest it did for me.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    44

    Default

    I followed your steps, "ATI Catalyst Control Center" appeared on KMenu but when I am trying to open it, it says:
    "Initialization Error
    There was a problem initializing Catalyst Control center...."

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    44

    Default

    maybe it is because of I am doing the intallation of ati in startx interface.

    At first I cannot go out of startx, I am opening BT3 via bootable CD and it opens startx automatically. I am trying to log out and en the season but an other season of startx begins automatically.

    Beside that every thing seems okay regarding ati driver installation. Ati CCC icons appear on Kmenu, too. But why it doesn't work I can not understand.

    I have Sony vaio with Ati Radeon X700 in it.

    Can any one help me.... I can not see bactrack screen except using projector with a VGA cable. My laptops monitor is always black.

  9. #9
    Junior Member kooze's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    87

    Default

    jesus lord i hated setting up my ATI card with BT3 and for a few days i was stuck but i got it...

    idk if this will help but try referrring to this thread damlayss


    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/sho...t=15517&page=4

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    44

    Default

    At last I solved by trying other opening options..thanks for helps

    After that I installed to usb stick and boot it from there but now another problem appeared, boot from usb stick is working just like boot from live cd : It forgets every installation and settings in next boot..So why did I have that much trouble to install on sub stick?

    may be it is an other title so I will open a new thread.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •