Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: WinDOZE passwd crack

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default WinDOZE passwd crack

    Hey all,

    Just wondering if I could get some help with this. I'm trying to crack my winDOZE (Windows) XP laptop's user password. I know my own password but I'm just having fun with Backtrack. So here's the issue:

    I boot up BT3 final on my Windows.

    Open terminal

    cd /mnt/
    tab
    hda1 hda2 sdb livecd
    cd /mnt/hda2/WINDOWS/system32/config
    path not found

    I checked hda2, and it certainly IS the hard drive.

    I also found where the path ends, it stops at /mnt/hda2/

    There seems to be no /mnt/hda2/WINDOWS

    So I do /mnt/hda2/
    tab
    and there is a large list with no WINDOWS file/folder.
    The list includes win52 and a lot of other stuff.

    Any suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong?

    Thanks!!

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO kraven666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default

    I'd like to know more about this way of cracking a windows password, so I will listen to the experienced responses.

    However I use the OphCrack live CD to crack forgotten windows passwords. So you may want to look into this.

    Kraven666

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    74

    Default

    I haven't tried cracking the password, instead I changed the password:

    >mount /dev/hda1 /mnt
    **sam file located at /mnt/windows/system32/config/sam
    >chntpw -l /mnt/windows/system32/config/sam
    **it list all the accounts currently on the sam file
    >chntpw -i /mnt/windows/system32/config/sam
    **this option will allow you to choose the user account you want to reset, I find that if you leave the password blank it tends to work better than trying to change it to something else.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by algemy View Post
    I haven't tried cracking the password, instead I changed the password:

    >mount /dev/hda1 /mnt
    **sam file located at /mnt/windows/system32/config/sam
    See that's just the issue, my laptop doesn't have /mnt/windows nor /mnt/Windows or /mnt/WINDOWS. It's rather odd too, because on other forums, nobody has any idea....

    ANY ideas would be appreciated

  5. #5
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    winDOZE, LOL, ROLF!!!!11!!!!One!!

    It's like a play on words, DOZE like sleeping like Windows is slow. Wow, that's funny, Did you come up with that all by yourself?
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  6. #6
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Slimmay View Post
    See that's just the issue, my laptop doesn't have /mnt/windows nor /mnt/Windows or /mnt/WINDOWS. It's rather odd too, because on other forums, nobody has any idea....

    ANY ideas would be appreciated
    Dude you lack basic linux skills so there is not much chance of you getting this to work but I'll try to help. You must simply create the directory. You cant mount a device on a mount point unless you create the point or use one thats already there. This isnt even linux 101 its like kindergarden linux.

    Instead of this....
    Code:
    cd /mnt/
    tab
    hda1 hda2 sdb livecd
    cd /mnt/hda2/WINDOWS/system32/config
    path not found
    try this....
    Code:
    cd /mnt
    mkdir windoze
    mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/windoze
    cd /mnt/windoze
    ls -a

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO kraven666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Thanks algemy and pureh@te, combining both your responses I was able to change my laptops administrator password. I find this way alot faster than booting into optcrack.

    Thanks

    Kraven666

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by streaker69 View Post
    winDOZE, LOL, ROLF!!!!11!!!!One!!

    It's like a play on words, DOZE like sleeping like Windows is slow. Wow, that's funny, Did you come up with that all by yourself?
    Nah, my Uncle hates windows cause it's so slow, so he called it that.

    Also, thanks pureh@te, I'll see if this works.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •