Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Vista + BT3 dual boot

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Vista + BT3 dual boot

    my setup- 2 partitions #1 vista #2 bt3_usb (extracted and bootint ran)
    what ive done so far- ran easybcd set up the vista boot loader
    what i need to do-? when i get to the bootloader screen on boot up and i select bt3 i get no bootmgr found what do i need to do?

  2. #2
    Senior Member ShadowKill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 74kumi View Post
    my setup- 2 partitions #1 vista #2 bt3_usb (extracted and bootint ran)
    what ive done so far- ran easybcd set up the vista boot loader
    what i need to do-? when i get to the bootloader screen on boot up and i select bt3 i get no bootmgr found what do i need to do?
    How did you install BT? What guide/steps did you follow?



    "The goal of every man should be to continue living even after he can no longer draw breath."

    ~ShadowKill

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 74kumi View Post
    my setup- 2 partitions #1 vista #2 bt3_usb (extracted and bootint ran)
    what ive done so far- ran easybcd set up the vista boot loader
    what i need to do-? when i get to the bootloader screen on boot up and i select bt3 i get no bootmgr found what do i need to do?


    just install bt3 like u would with windows xp

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    the way i installed it is by extracting the BT3_usb to the drive and running the bootinst file that is all i did

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    first the drive that i normaly boot BT3 from (which is a usb) i coppied the entire directory to the 2gig fat32 partition and ran the bootinst -f file. from there i used easy bcd and added what i thought was bt3 boot loader to easybcd. (this was all done in vista) am i missing something or did i do something that would not allow it to boot?

  6. #6
    Senior Member ShadowKill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hackneyedhacker View Post
    just install bt3 like u would with windows xp
    What??? WHAT?!?!?!?

    I really don't have words to accurately describe my anger right now....



    "The goal of every man should be to continue living even after he can no longer draw breath."

    ~ShadowKill

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 74kumi View Post
    my setup- 2 partitions #1 vista #2 bt3_usb (extracted and bootint ran)
    what ive done so far- ran easybcd set up the vista boot loader
    what i need to do-? when i get to the bootloader screen on boot up and i select bt3 i get no bootmgr found what do i need to do?
    You ran bootint for an HDD Installation? Anyways I guess it wrote to the BT3 partition instead of the MBR otherwise you wouldn't be able to boot Vista.

    There are two ways of accomplishing the Dual-Boot, and I see that you chose the hardest way which Vista to boot BT3. The Windows Boot Manager won't load a linux partition without having the first 512 bytes of your Linux partition (which contains the Linux boot manager LILO). In order to do so use a live cd and:

    Code:
    dd if=/dev/sda2 of=/mnt/sda1/sda1.bin bs=512 count=1
    note: remember to change sda2 accordingly to match your linux partition, and sda1 to match the mounted Vista partition.

    Now simple configure the path of your BT3 entry in EasyBCD and point it to sda1.bin in your C:\ drive. Hope it helps!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •