Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: broadcom wireless and some other issue

  1. #11
    Junior Member MaxHalz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    31

    Default

    I tried to put a command as described: dmesg | grep Broadcom but nothing apeared. no error, no statement, nothing.
    Also tried to do dmesg | grep eth1 but also nothing. I might be missing something or I need to put an ESSID first or something. Very noobish of me what can I do.
    I read parts on slackbook about network and wireless but cant find the right commands for it.

  2. #12
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MaxHalz View Post
    I tried to put a command as described: dmesg | grep Broadcom but nothing apeared. no error, no statement, nothing.
    Also tried to do dmesg | grep eth1 but also nothing. I might be missing something or I need to put an ESSID first or something. Very noobish of me what can I do.
    I read parts on slackbook about network and wireless but cant find the right commands for it.
    The dmesg command shows what loaded and what didn't load when the system booted, if I recall properly. Piping ( | ) it to grep and adding Broadcom after it tells it to only display the lines that have Broadcom in it. It is case senstive so if Broadcom it's capped (B) then it might not find it.

    Try this:

    dmesg | grep roadcom

    yes, I left the B off because you don't know if that character is capped or not, but the rest may still appear on the line. You could just do this:

    dmesg | more

    and then it will list everything 1 page at a time and you're looking for any line that says Broadcom on it. Post those results.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  3. #13
    Junior Member MaxHalz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    31

    Default

    After trying to run commands this info I got from it. First i did grep | more and then found the bcm43xx wich i tought is related to my WIFI card. Later did grep | bcm43xx and this is what i got:

    Code:
    bt ~ # dmesg | grep bcm43xx
    bcm43xx driver
    bcm43xx: Chip ID 0x4311, rev 0x2
    bcm43xx: Number of cores: 4
    bcm43xx: Core 0: ID 0x800, rev 0x13, vendor 0x4243
    bcm43xx: Core 1: ID 0x812, rev 0xd, vendor 0x4243
    bcm43xx: Unsupported 80211 core revision 13
    bcm43xx: Core 2: ID 0x817, rev 0x4, vendor 0x4243
    bcm43xx: Core 3: ID 0x820, rev 0x5, vendor 0x4243
    bcm43xx: PHY connected
    bcm43xx: Detected PHY: Analog: 4, Type 2, Revision 9
    bcm43xx: Invalid PHY Revision 9
    bcm43xx: Detected Radio: ID: 2205017f (Manuf: 17f Ver: 2050 Rev: 2)
    bcm43xx: Radio turned off
    bcm43xx: Radio turned off
    bcm43xx: PHY connected
    bcm43xx: Microcode rev 0x123, pl 0x23 (2005-03-22  00:11:18)
    bcm43xx: Radio turned on
    bcm43xx: Radio enabled by hardware
    bcm43xx: Chip initialized
    bcm43xx: 64-bit DMA initialized
    bcm43xx: Keys cleared
    bcm43xx: Selected 802.11 core (phytype 2)
    bcm43xx: FATAL ERROR: BCM43xx_IRQ_XMIT_ERROR
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: Radio turned off
    bcm43xx: DMA-64 0x0200 (RX) max used slots: 0/64
    bcm43xx: DMA-64 0x0340 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
    bcm43xx: DMA-64 0x0300 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
    bcm43xx: DMA-64 0x02C0 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
    bcm43xx: DMA-64 0x0280 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
    bcm43xx: DMA-64 0x0240 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
    bcm43xx: DMA-64 0x0200 (TX) max used slots: 0/512
    bcm43xx: IRQ_READY timeout
    bcm43xx: core_up for active 802.11 core failed (-19)
    bcm43xx: Microcode rev 0x123, pl 0x23 (2005-03-22  00:11:18)
    bcm43xx: Radio turned on
    bcm43xx: Radio enabled by hardware
    bcm43xx: Chip initialized
    bcm43xx: 64-bit DMA initialized
    bcm43xx: Keys cleared
    bcm43xx: Selected 802.11 core (phytype 2)
    bcm43xx: ASSERTION FAILED (bcm->noisecalc.calculation_running) at: drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_main.c:1538:handle_irq_noise()
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    bcm43xx: MAC suspend failed
    Also will put one for my network card:

    Code:
    Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Driver - version 7.3.20-k2-NAPI
    Copyright (c) 1999-2006 Intel Corporation.
    ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:00:19.0[A] -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
    PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:00:19.0 to 64
    sd 2:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 0
    sd 3:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg1 type 0
    e1000: 0000:00:19.0: e1000_probe: (PCI Express:2.5Gb/s:Width x1) 00:1c:c4:c6:17:ac
    e1000: eth0: e1000_probe: Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Connection
    shpchp: Standard Hot Plug PCI Controller Driver version: 0.4

  4. #14
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Good job! You've done gone and learnt somethung new. Feels good don't it?

    Here's your problem:

    bcm43xx: FATAL ERROR: BCM43xx_IRQ_XMIT_ERROR
    It looks as though it's loading the firmware which is good. I'm gonna do some research and post back.

    In the meantime answer these questions:

    Do you have NDISWrapper installed?

    Did you do anything with bcm43xx-fwcutter?

    Did you do anything with NetworkManager?

    Ugh!

    Nevermind, I just saw that you posted it's BCM4311. You're not gonna get that one to work. If you had a 4306, then it would work fine. There was just a thread the other day talking about the 4311 and not having support for it.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  5. #15
    Senior Member ShadowKill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Wow I missed that as well. Sorry Max, you're SoL. Time for a new card.

    Atheros = easy button



    "The goal of every man should be to continue living even after he can no longer draw breath."

    ~ShadowKill

  6. #16
    Junior Member MaxHalz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Great thanks for help.

    Tomorow going to buy and acer travel mate 5720 with a wifi card "link4965 AGN".

    I was very surprised as they sell laptops over the country and just by asking them wich wifi card is in any model I was interested in they couldnt know the answer. So google is the best friend but also on some distribution sites for laptops you cant get an info of what wifi card is installed, very hard information to get and all it says is wifi b/g without further explanation.


    Yes learned a lesson but thanks to you guys.

    Best regards MaxHalz.

  7. #17
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MaxHalz View Post
    Great thanks for help.

    Tomorow going to buy and acer travel mate 5720 with a wifi card "link4965 AGN".

    I was very surprised as they sell laptops over the country and just by asking them wich wifi card is in any model I was interested in they couldnt know the answer. So google is the best friend but also on some distribution sites for laptops you cant get an info of what wifi card is installed, very hard information to get and all it says is wifi b/g without further explanation.


    Yes learned a lesson but thanks to you guys.

    Best regards MaxHalz.
    If it's a miniPCI card you're looking for, I got a pair of BCM4306's off of Ebay a while back for about $10.00 each. I use it for general connectivity and I've never had an issue with it.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  8. #18
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi streaker69 i'm having the same problem with the bcm43xx drivers. I know i have the legacy version and need help setting it up.

    when i do dmesg | grep bcm
    i get the following
    bcm43xx driver
    bcm43xx: CHIP ID 0x4306, rev0x2
    bcm43xx: number of cores: 6
    bcm43xx: Core 0: ID 0x800 rev0x2 vendor 0x4243
    bcm43xx: Core 1: ID 0x812 rev0x4 vendor 0x4243
    bcm43xx: Core 2: ID 0x80d rev0x1 vendor 0x4243
    bcm43xx: Core 3: ID 0x807 rev0x1 vendor 0x4243
    bcm43xx: Core 4: ID 0x804 rev0x7 vendor 0x4243
    bcm43xx: Core 5: ID 0x800 rev0x4 vendor 0x4243
    bcm43xx: ignoring additional 802.11a core.
    bcm43xx: PHY connected.
    bcm43xx: detected PHY: analog 1. type 2 revision 1
    bcm43xx: dected radio ID: 225017 (manuf: 17f ver:2050 rev: 2)
    bcm43xx:radio turned off
    bcm43xx:radio turned off
    bcm43xxhy connected
    bcm43xxhy disconnected
    bcm43xxhy connected
    bcm43xx:microcode rev 0x123, pl 0x23 (2005-03-22 00:11:18)
    bcm43xx:radio turned on
    bcm43xx:radio enabled by hardware
    bcm43xx:chip initalized
    bcm43xx:30-bit DMA initalized
    bcm43xx:TODO: incomplete code in keymac_write() at drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_main.c:1151

    bcm43xx:TODO: incomplete code in keymac_write() at drivers/net/wireless/bcm43xx/bcm43xx/bcm43xx_main.c:1153
    bcm43xx: keys cleared
    bcm43xx: selected 802.11 core (phytype 2)
    _________________________
    i have also tried the b43fwcutter 011 method using the legacy driver and fwcutter tool to install the new firmware located at /lib/firmware

    but i'm not sure how/if i need to de-active the old drivers by somehow commenting them out or uninstalling. I have not installed ndiswrapper (unless it comes with bt3final)

    I have been able to use spoonwep and kismet for wireless network detection and instrusion. but I'm having trouble getting airsnarf to work i get the following messages
    after i have edited /etc/airsnarf.cfg

    and updated the wlan0 setting to eth1

    creating dhcp.d conf ..done
    building the captive portal..done.
    setting the wireless parameters..wlanconfig: ioctl: operation not supported
    wlanconfig: ioctl: no such device

    any help would get greatly appreee........

    thanks!

  9. #19
    Junior Member MaxHalz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    31

    Default

    I will try this card that comes with my laptop, but if will be going to buy a new NIC will go for some that has a connector for an antenna. I understand that orinoco gold is a good choice of what I read in some books.

    Also, despite the failures I had am starting to like the hard way of getting things done the right way.

  10. #20
    Senior Member ShadowKill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MaxHalz View Post
    I will try this card that comes with my laptop, but if will be going to buy a new NIC will go for some that has a connector for an antenna. I understand that orinoco gold is a good choice of what I read in some books.

    Also, despite the failures I had am starting to like the hard way of getting things done the right way.
    Feels good doesn't it? I've always found that one of the greatest feelings is being able to fix/complete something you have little understanding of, on your own for the most part, regardless of how complex it may be or how many times others have accomplished the same task. It will only help you to think "outside the box" down the road, which also is a very good thing....



    "The goal of every man should be to continue living even after he can no longer draw breath."

    ~ShadowKill

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •