Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1

    Unhappy BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

    Hey,
    I installed BT4 final on my 2 GB Transcend flash drive, it works fine, everything is good, but one problem - it doesn't detect my 2 NTFS partitions, so I can't access my hard drive. Weird, because with BT4 pre-final everyhing worked fine, partitions were detected....

  2. #2
    Member DigiP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

    Have you tried mounting the drives manually? Type mount from a terminal and see if they show up first. If not, you can try fdisk -l. Then just mount them manually now that you know what the device names are. This isnt a bug, but more a basic linux thing, and probably shoul dhave been put in the beginners forum. My BT4 Final thumbdrive sees my HDD's just fine.
    Last edited by DigiP; 01-17-2010 at 12:13 AM.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

    Had problems with BT4P-F detecting NTFS partitions and had to mount them manually, but with BT4 Final - no problems.
    all things must end

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

    I had to use force mount to get the NTFS partition mounted IDE drive Hitachi 2,5'' when running from Live CD.
    Error were that NTFS were already in use.
    - It were not.
    /Ice

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

    I know you can do it by adding the necessary ntfs device entry in /etc/fstab.

    But I have noticed that while in KDE, if you open up Konqueror and do the following, you'll have your device mounted to /media/<device>:
    - in Location field, enter media:/
    - click on the device you need mounted

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    35° 47' N/ 78° 39' W
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: BT4 final doesn't detect NTFS partitions?

    1. Open Terminal

    2.Type: mkdir windows

    3.Type: mount /dev/sda1 ~/windows

    Note: if NTFS is on sda2, then type: mount /dev/sda2 ~/windows

    and so on...

    If not sure type: Fdisk -l
    The only truly secure computer is one buried in concrete, with the power turned off and the network cable cut. ~??????

Similar Threads

  1. X doesn't support the VIA Chrome9 HC3 out of the box
    By ToolZ in forum BackTrack Bugs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 03:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •