Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can't set screen resolution

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Can't set screen resolution

    First of all, I wanna say hi to all of this community's members, since this is my first post.
    I have installed Backtrack 4 recently and I can't set the resolution higher than 800x600. In resolution tray this is my highest one. If I tray to set any resolution bigger than 800x600 with xrandr it says "Size 1440x900 not found in avalable modes" and so on.
    I have a GeForce 8600 GT video board and I run Backtrack from VirtualBOX under Ubuntu 9.10.
    If you have a solution please let me know
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Can't set screen resolution

    If you haven't done so already, install the guest drivers for Virtualbox.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Can't set screen resolution

    i dunno what to do under virtualbox, but i think you should install your graphic card's drivers to customize your video settings.try to google '' video drivers and virtualbox ''

  4. #4
    Member xX_Spiidey_Xx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    256

    Default Re: Can't set screen resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by giansbu View Post
    i dunno what to do under virtualbox, but i think you should install your graphic card's drivers to customize your video settings.try to google '' video drivers and virtualbox ''
    under virtualbox, you do _not_ install the host machine's graphics drivers. virtualbox creates a _virtual machine_ which has drivers all of its own.

    @OP your best option in this case would be to try installing the virtualbox guest additions on your backtrack vbox. if you find that they don't work for screen resizing (I have this problem from time to time) try as Snayler said, and run fixvesa this may clear up your issue.

    as i've said many times before, rtfm (can you tell that i'm a sysadmin?) before you install software. i know that the guest additions "cd" comes with a readme file that provides clean and clear instructions on how to install the drivers.

    not that this is an ubuntu support forum, but as far as your 'buntu 9.10 puter's resolution: if you haven't already done so, i recommend installing the nvidia graphics drivers. nvidia is very nice to the open-source community and provides drivers for linux anyway, check out my tutorial for doing this here, and follow on from the lspci portion down.
    thou shalt treat all computers as thou wouldst treat thyself, for thou art the creator of thine own problems.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    79

    Default Re: Can't set screen resolution

    I have had a similar problem on a different laptop with a GeForce card. try editing the X.org file.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up Re: Can't set screen resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by xX_Spiidey_Xx View Post
    nvidia is very nice to the open-source community and provides drivers for linux anyway, check out my tutorial for doing this here, and follow on from the lspci portion down.
    Thanks a lot spidey I followed your tutorial and was able to get my screen resolution problem fixed in roughly 10 minutes. Very good and detailed info.

  7. #7
    Member xX_Spiidey_Xx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    256

    Default Re: Can't set screen resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by th1rte3n View Post
    Thanks a lot spidey I followed your tutorial and was able to get my screen resolution problem fixed in roughly 10 minutes. Very good and detailed info.
    wicked stuff d00d. glad i could help
    thou shalt treat all computers as thou wouldst treat thyself, for thou art the creator of thine own problems.

  8. #8
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Can't set screen resolution

    What have you tried so far to fix the problem? have you tried "fixvesa"?

Similar Threads

  1. Screen resolution problem.
    By keenanh in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-15-2010, 10:11 PM
  2. Resolution,again
    By Okasu in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-08-2010, 03:33 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-2010, 07:13 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-2010, 08:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •