Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Acer Aspire One Broken After Using BT3 USB?

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I would love to know if the laptop was broken due to an error during the backtrack installation or if it broke down due to hardware failure.
    A new aspire one should arive in a couple of days and I like to know before installing BT on it...

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I have the Aspire One with 8GB SSD HD, and 1.5GB Ram (Self Upgraded).
    I have the standard Linpus OS installed. I also have a 4GB USB Stick that I have BT3 on.

    I use BT3 at least once a day min, in conjuction with Linpus and never had any problems.

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I'll explain all my steps here, maybe someone knows what I did wrong.

    1: formatted the 120g harddrive in 1 large partition and installed windows vista on it.
    2: vista was too slow so I re-formatted the 120 harddrive and installed xp
    3: downloaded latest version of bt3
    4: formatted 4g usb stick
    5: copied files to usb stick.
    6: run the batch file to make the stick bootable
    7: reboot with usb stick
    8: entered auto configure grphic card
    9: entered startx that showed me an error the graphics card is unable to handle the GUI I've chosen.
    10: And then I had to hold down the off button for a couple of seconds because the laptop crashed.
    11: after that the laptop only shows me a little green power light, when the power cable is connected it shows the batterij charging light and the fan is working but that it's.

    Maybe BT3 replaced my graphics card driver which results in a black screen?

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    It seems to be a bios problem but i stumbled across this and I had the exact same problem , but this worked for me.

    hxxp://macles.blogspot.com/2008/08/acer-aspire-one-bios-recovery.html

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thanks, I think this is what I was looking for, too bad I already send back the aspire one to the store.. But when I run into troubles again when I receive my new aspire one I'll know what to do...

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default hey buddy

    do what take off battery & ac power adapter than wait for 3 minut
    put back the ac power adapter in. no battery okay
    than hold ctrl+alt than press power on
    that worked for me try that

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    27

    Default

    I don't know if anyone is still wondering about the problems with this problem with the Aspire Ones' but the reason that this happened to some of the Aspires was due to a faulty motherboard in some of the origional units, I had the same thing happen to mine when I first bought it and they replaced my motherboard saying that there were some problems with mine when it was released
    Never argue with an idiot, they'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience

  8. #18
    Just burned his ISO m1st3rg0n3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Acer Aspire One Woes....

    To the OP:

    My mother-in-law just had the same issue (although not using BT). You need to reflash the bios with the most current version from Acer.

    1. Download the latest bios release from here:hxxp://sites.google.com/site/maclesblogspotcom/BIOS (change the x's in "hxxp" to t's... I can't post links yet...)

    2. Extract flashit.exe and the bios file (the extension is .fd).

    3. Rename the bios file to ZG5IA32.FD

    4. Format a USB drive to FAT.

    5. Copy both flashit.exe and the bios file to the root of the USB drive.

    6. Make sure the AA1 is turned off, that the battery is in and the charger is plugged in.

    7. press and hold fn+esc keys and press the power button. Continue to hold them until the power button starts flashing.

    8. Release the fn+esc keys and press the power button ONCE.

    9. The AA1 will start flashing the bios. DO NOT INTERRUPT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. After a few minutes, the power button will stop blinking, and shortly thereafter the AA1 will reboot with the new bios flashed and all settings set to default.

    If that fails:

    **10. When the power button stops flashing, if the AA1 does not reboot after 5 mins., wait 5 mins. longer to ensure the bios is not still being flashed, and turn the machine off. Repeat steps 1-9

    Needless to say, my mother-in-law's AA1 is back to working perfectly.

    -m1st3rg0n3

  9. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    332

    Default

    Just to back what m1st3rg0n3 said.
    Had the same problem and flashing bios worked
    (it did for 100+ people that have commented on this site)
    Too bad you already sent your aao away
    SecurityTube has two new sections. Questions & News

  10. #20
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Acer Aspire one AOA150.
    Too low video memory.
    WTF?)

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •