Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Ettercap error

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Slimmay View Post
    Ok I connected nicely to the internet, but ettercap still doesn't work. Exact same issue as before...
    Are you using BT2 or BT3, are both you and the client on the same subnet and is the client active? Could you post the exact command that you use to run ettercap so we can examine it as well?
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Ok, yes the client is on the same AP and is active.

    I tried GUI and terminal commands, none do the trick...

    GUI:
    scan for hosts
    host list- (doesnt work)
    start sniffing

    it starts but finds nothing.

    Terminal:

    ettercap -Tq -M ARP -i wifi0

    sniffs but never finds anything!

    Am I doing something wrong? PLEASE correct me if so!

    Thanks

  3. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    190

    Default

    Your ettercap command is wrong, u're missing the ip range

    Should be something like

    ettercap -T -M arp:remote /192.168.1.1/ /192.168.1.2-10/

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Slimmay View Post
    it starts but finds nothing.

    Terminal:

    ettercap -Tq -M ARP -i wifi0
    Seeing as I provided you with the exact command to use in your previous thread I find it rather weird that you still are using the incorrect command to run ettercap. In case you do not know the IP of your client or the gateway it is possible to run an MITM attack against all clients on the subnet using the following command, but this usually does not work as reliably as when actually specifying the targets:
    Code:
    ettercap –Tq –M ARP // // -i ath0
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Ok now we're getting somewhere. I entered

    ettercap –Tq –M ARP // // -i ath0

    and it says "FATAL: ARP poisoning needs a non empty hosts list."

    So... now what?

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Slimmay View Post
    and it says "FATAL: ARP poisoning needs a non empty hosts list."

    So... now what?
    This means that ettercap cannot find any clients on the network, which is why an ARP poison attack can't be executed. You need to check your setup to find out what could be the reason for this. Are you for example implementing any kind of client isolation technique or firewall rule that could prevent the two clients from seeing each other?
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I'm having the exact same problem as OP.. Any further suggestions?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •