Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: How To Use New Enhanced features Of rt73 chipset and WPA_Supplicant Issues Fixed

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    I have already tried that. Same result!!

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lemmy999 View Post
    I'm trying to install the new driver as per the tutorial (BT3F installed to hdd) and keep running up against the following issue. I have extracted the driver to /tmp. Every time I try to run "cd /rt73-k2wrlz-3.0.1/module I get "No such file or directory".

    I'm assuming that its a permissions thing but I can't work out what I need to change and how!
    Quote Originally Posted by lemmy999 View Post
    I have already tried that. Same result!!
    But have you confirmed that you actually have the file downloaded and in this location?
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Could you please post the tar command you are using to extract the files? Could give us a clue as to what is happening.

  4. #14
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    OK I have repeated the process. file was downloaded to /root and extracted (using Ark)to the same directory. Heres the output in full.
    bt ~ # modprobe -r rt73
    bt ~ # cd rt73-k2wrlz-3.0.1/module
    -bash: cd: rt73-k2wrlz-3.0.1/module: No such file or directory
    bt ~ # ls
    Desktop/ my\ mac\ etc~ rt73-k2wrlz-3.0.1.tar.bz2
    new\ xorg.conf wifizoo_black_v1.3/
    rt73-k2wrlz-3.0.1/
    bt ~ #

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Got it!!! Should have been cd'ing to rt73-k2wrlz-3.0.1 directory and then to Module!

    That'll teach me to take any command at face value without thinking things thru!

    Thanks for your help anyway.

    edit
    Just tested my Edimax 7318 out and it works perfectly!! I'd recommend the latest driver to anyone else having trouble with an Rt73 chipset card/dongle.

  6. #16
    Good friend of the forums
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    outside chicago, il
    Posts
    442

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by secure_it View Post
    c) WPA2 (802.11i)
    wpa_passphrase <essid> <passphrase>
    copy the psk hash(uncommented one)
    iwpriv wlan0 set AuthMode=WPA2PSK
    iwpriv wlan0 set WPAPSK=<KEY> #replace key with your psk-hash
    iwpriv wlan0 set EncrypType=AES

    Check that you're associated with an AP
    iwconfig wlan0
    # wpa_passphrase dlink swordfish
    # iwpriv rausb0 set AuthMode=WPA2PSK
    # iwpriv rausb0 set WPAPSK=c00e7508e81349c29200ea0fcfbc11b56df555a9b78 fb24a300950b7f584de71
    # iwpriv rausb0 set EncrypType=AES

    # iwconfig rausb0
    rausb0 RT73 WLAN ESSID:"2WIRE018"
    Mode:Managed Frequency=2.437 GHz Bit Rate=11 Mb/s
    RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality=39/100 Signal level:-80 dBm Noise level:-143 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    So I did something wrong, but I am not sure what. I am using version 3.02 of the driver.
    I like the bleeding edge, but I don't like blood loss

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    secure_it thnx allot,your manuall & patch rt73 sovled all my problems!!!!!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •