Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: No display - black screen

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    21

    Default

    try this... remove xconf and add this "acpi=off noapic". can you post your hardware?

  2. #12
    Junior Member kooze's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pipedream View Post
    try this... remove xconf and add this "acpi=off noapic". can you post your hardware?
    okay, ill try removing xconf, and adding acpi=off and noapic. ill also give you the hardware specs on the laptop I'm using. I'm at work right now so ill get back to you in a few hours.

    EDIT:

    ok so i tried removing the xconf and adding the acpi=off and noapic but still got nowhere. =\ heres my laptop specs...

    amd athlon 64 x2 dual-core processor TK-57
    ATI radeon xpress 1250 graphics
    2g ram
    running vista at the moment untill i wipe it (i dislike vista)

  3. #13
    Developer muts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    272

    Default

    try a vesa xorg.conf.
    Backup your xorg.conf file and type: "fixvesa"

  4. #14
    Junior Member kooze's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    87

    Default

    thanks for the advice muts but unfortuantley im still getting the fatal server error as i mentioned before, i think i pretty much tried everything

  5. #15
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default Same problem

    Hey, I just set Backtrack 3 to boot from a USB drive. I am having a similar problem. I would boot Bactrack, and after the first menu, I would get a black screen. I tried everything that you guys mentioned, and hitting tab and then entering "acpi=off noapic" seemed to get me furthest. I ran xconf, and it said "Your graphics card has been configured, run startx now". After I did that, it gave me the 'no screens found' error. I have another monitor attached right now I'll unplug it and try again.
    Processor: Mobile Dual-Core AMD Turion 64 x2 TL-60, 2 GHz (like Kooze's)
    Motherboard: AMD M690 (Hammer)
    Graphics: ATI Radeon X1270

  6. #16
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    21

    Default

    have you tried the ati.lzm? (its floating around the board somewhere) I also have an ati video card (x700) and it displays the same error (no screens found) when i use xconf.

  7. #17
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I wasn't able to find much on ati.lzm. What is it?/Where can I get it?

    EDIT: Once I get it, I just add it to the "Modules" folder with the other .lzm files, right?
    ANOTHER EDIT: xconf works fine. I get the 'no screens found' error when i run startx.

  8. #18
    Junior Member kooze's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    87

    Default

    yeah i tried the ati.lzm but it didnt work for me.. but maybe itll work for you

    heres the ati module (ati.lzm)
    http://backtrack.offensive-security....ex.php/Modules

    heres the how-to on how to get it going
    http://backtrack.offensive-security....ati.lzm_module

    hope that helps... it didnt for me but like i said maybe it will for you

    EDIT:

    Quote Originally Posted by lanec42 View Post
    Once I get it, I just add it to the "Modules" folder with the other .lzm files right?
    yes, you can do that too, but take a look at the how-to link i gave you too

  9. #19
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    OK, now I know the "what" and the "how" of ati.lzm, I just don't know where to get it. Was it supposed to come with the USB image? Does it only exist on the CD image? (I'll find that out next.) Do I download it from ATI's website?!

    EDIT: Ok, I was posting while you were. Thanks for the link, I'll get to work.

  10. #20
    Junior Member kooze's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    87

    Default

    okay, let me know how everything goes

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •