Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: I need help getting alfa adapter to work

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Backtrack recognizes my adapter as wlan1. The built in card is wlan0. I've tried to get connection with the alfa. No luck.

    In the wireless assistant, it shows my network under wlan0, but nothing under wlan1. However when I ran kismet and used the alfa it showed my network.


    I've ran tried these commands:
    rmmod r8187
    modprobe r8187
    dhcpcd wlan1


    iwconfig shows this output:


    wlan0 802.11b/g linked ESSID:"dd-wrt"
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: 00:40:10:20:00:03
    Bit Rate=11 Mb/s Tx-Power=5 dBm
    Retryn Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality=84/100 Signal level=-156 dBm Noise level=-240 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


    wlan1 IEEE 802.11a ESSID:"" Nickname:""
    Mode:Managed Channel:0 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Tx-Power=0 dBm
    Retry min limit:7 RTS thrff Fragment thr=2346 B
    Encryption keyff
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


    I know I'm missing a step, just doesn't make much sense why I can't even access the internet using the alfa, but the built in wireless works and I'm using it right now.

    Please help.

    Sorry to post so soon, but here is more messages I am getting:

    bt ~ # airmon-ng start wlan1


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 RTL8187 r8187
    wlan1 Intel 4965 a/b/g/n iwl4965 - [phy0]

    ERROR: Neither the sysfs interface links nor the iw command is available.
    Please download and install iw from aircrack website


    and



    bt ~ # wesside-ng wlan1
    Interface IdidNotSpecifyAnInterface:
    ioctl(SIOCGIFINDEX) failed: No such device
    wesside-ng: wi_open(IdidNotSpecifyAnInterface): Illegal seek
    New to BT, not new to Linux.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy_R View Post
    Backtrack recognizes my adapter as wlan1. The built in card is wlan0.

    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 RTL8187 r8187
    wlan1 Intel 4965 a/b/g/n iwl4965 - [phy0]
    Obviously it is the other way around. Your Alfa card is wlan0 and your internal intel 4965 card is listed as wlan1. To get your Alfa card into monitor mode simpy use the following command:
    Code:
    iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Tron thanks I didn't notice that. Since you have the alfa, does the led light not work under backtrack? Mine didn't blink any, but it does when using windows. That's why I didn't think it was working.


    But thanks again, I try it later today when I get off work.
    New to BT, not new to Linux.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy_R View Post
    Tron thanks I didn't notice that. Since you have the alfa, does the led light not work under backtrack? Mine didn't blink any, but it does when using windows. That's why I didn't think it was working.
    I believe that the led will blink once when you plug in the USB connector, but after this it will stay completely dead. The led that is, not the card itself
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Shatter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    192

    Default

    The LED only blinks once when the interface is brought up eg. ifconfig wlan0 up.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Thanks, everyone. The light was throwing me off.

    I also know how I got confused on the wlan0 and wlan1. The first time I tried the adapter I plugged it in after backtrack was loaded, thus giving it wlan1. The second time I started the laptop with the adapter already plugged in and it was the opposite.
    New to BT, not new to Linux.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •