Thread: Wireless D-Link WUA-1340 USB NIC Setup Issue

Just burned his ISO

Default Wireless D-Link WUA-1340 USB NIC Setup Issue

I'm new to Linux and BackTrack. I am trying to get my USB wireless device setup and running so I can practice cracking WEP, etc... Below is what I am doing so far and I cannot get the USB wireless to work.

From what I have read this is what I need to do to get things to work:
    1. Hardware Support for the wireless USB Nic
    2. Config the card to connect to a WAP
    3. Config the Network

This is what I have done with the above steps:
    1.Hardware support for the wireless USB Nic:
    - I have done nothing here as I am assuming BackTrack 3 is already setup with the Rt73 driver, as advised on the BackTrack wiki page.

Is there anything that I should be doing here?

2. Config the card to connect to a WAP
    - I have opened rc.wirless.conf and edited it with the following entry.

# Connect to WAP*)
    INFO="Dlink WUA-1340"
    ESSID="MyNetworkName"
    CHANNEL="5"
    KEY="128 byte key here"
    ;;

Next I ran "rc.wireless" and then "rc.inet1"

Next I ran the following commands:
    iwconfig rausb0 essid "MyNetworkName"
    iwconfig rausb0 key 128 byte key here
    iwconfig rausb0 channel 5

Have I done this correctly and is there anything I am missing here?

3. Config the Network

What do I need to do here?

As you mention that you use a 128 bit key I will assume that you are trying to connect to a WEP encrypted AP. These are the only steps that should be required to connect through the command line:
    Code:
    rm /etc/dhcpc/*
    dhcpcd –k rausb0
    iwconfig rausb0 mode managed
    iwconfig rausb0 essid "MyNetworkName"
    iwconfig rausb0 key ”your WEP key in hex form, ie 01122…”
    ifconfig rausb0 up
    dhcpcd –d –n rausb0