Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: WEP hacking in detail: Mac filter, Dhcp off, still quite safe?!

Just burned his ISO

Lightbulb WEP hacking in detail: Mac filter, Dhcp off, still quite safe?!

Hello from Italy this time!

I just subscribed to the forum, hoping that some experienced guys out there could help. I studied the posts for more than 3 weeks, but finally I couldn't find a solution. Answers / help welcome. After this issue is resolved, I plan to sum it up and share the solution with other people. I am a more or less a beginner with this software, so please don't be too harsh!

Equipment / Hardware:

Backtrack 3 Final (live version)
    Wireless Card: Broadcom + Alfa USB (=It started with the ALFA)

Access Point:

"Routerboard" Router
    WEP protection (128)
    Authentication: OPN
    + Mac Filter enabled (5 clients)
    Dhcp disabled

Ok, there is a grillion of WEP Hacking tutorials out there, so I said, I wanna try this, too. Let's get the ALFA started. For everyone's concern, this is my network at home! As a starting point, I reconfigured the network, enabling the WEP encryption with 128 key length instead of the WPA. First: DHCP ON! I removed my laptop's MAC from the whitelist. I successfully spoofed the address with macchanger:

macchanger --mac 00:156:02:84:62 wlan0

That's how I could associate with my AP, using aireplay without any "permission problems". After some time, using the well-known tools, such as airmon-ng, airodump-ng, aircrack-ng, I figured that my ALFA does its job and I could crack my key in less than 2 hrs, with around 1,5 million ivs. Then I used the following command to connect to the internet:

wlan0 ==> "mode managed" and "up"

iwconfig wlan0 essid okcom.it
    iwconfig wlan0 key 27:4B:7B:6B:71:41:52:2A:75:54:6D:5E:XX
    iwconfig wlan0 ap 00:0C:42:XX:XX:XX
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    rm /etc/dhcpc/*
    dhcpcd -nd wlan0

Fine this one worked!