Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Macchanger Help

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Macchanger Help

    Need some help with macchanger. Using BT4. Was advised to use these commands following card id : 1)airmon-ng stop 2) ipconfig [ card id] down 3) macchanger -- mac [a created mac] and 4) airmon-ng start [card id]. The second command was not recognized. Was then advised to create a changed mac before the aireplay command that is looking for association. This command was 1) macchanger -- show [card id]. Well this showed my existing mac. So I am at a loss about when to, and how to create a changed mac.
    Help is appreciated.
    Thank you!
    Quoth the raven,*********

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    The new forums
    Posts
    462

    Default Re: Macchanger Help

    macchanger -h

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Macchanger Help

    Thanks for the prompt response ,but still not sure where or when to use this command.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    173

    Default Re: Macchanger Help

    Hi fella well its an easy google search but I want to try help out as im still learning and waiting for replies can be frustrating
    So here goes.

    #iwconfig (to find network card name ath0 wlan0 ra0 eth0 etc fing the one you want to use)

    ie wlan0

    #macchanger -m 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0

    #airmong-ng start wlan0 (monitor mode)
    rest is up to you.

    check to see if its changed #ifconfig

  5. #5
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Macchanger Help

    Quote Originally Posted by nevermore View Post
    2) ipconfig [ card id] down
    (...)
    The second command was not recognized.
    The right command should be ifconfig, not ipconfig.

  6. #6
    Good friend of the forums comaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    338

    Default Re: Macchanger Help

    Hi, I think you maade a mistake : it's not "ipconfig" but "ifconfig"; for example
    airmon-ng stop wlan0
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    macchanger -m XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX wlan0
    (not sure :) ifconfig wlan0 up
    airmon-ng start wlan0
    then, have fun :)
    Hope this helps ;)

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Macchanger Help

    I'm using :

    ifconfig interface down
    macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 interface
    ifconfig interface up
    airmon-ng start interface

    interface : wlan0, ath0 ......

  8. #8
    Junior Member Valkyrie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: Macchanger Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Snayler View Post
    The right command should be ifconfig, not ipconfig.
    lol I wonder where he got ipconfig from?

    Normally i do

    ifconfig wlan0 down
    macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0
    ifconfig wlan0 up


    check current mac:
    macchanger -s

    man macchanger?

  9. #9
    Member xX_Spiidey_Xx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    256

    Default Re: Macchanger Help

    Quote Originally Posted by Valkyrie View Post
    lol I wonder where he got ipconfig from?
    Windoze users... ugh.

    My way:
    Code:
    ifdown wlanX
    macchanger -r wlanX
    ifup wlanX
    
    airmon-ng wlanX
    airodump-ng wlan0 OR kismet
    thou shalt treat all computers as thou wouldst treat thyself, for thou art the creator of thine own problems.

Similar Threads

  1. can not associate to AP when using macchanger
    By cabadce in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-12-2010, 09:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •