Thread: SpoonWep

Just burned his ISO

Default SpoonWep

I have some questions about SpoonWep and this whole process in general.

1. What is the ATH checkbox to the right of the wireless card drop down menu? I checked it and it turned red. I checked it because i have an Atheros wireless card. I have no idea if that is what that checkbox is really for.

2. Evidently my Atheros 5007 card works without any hassle. Vista device manager shows my card as 5007 BT3 shows it as 5006EG. I guess if it works then I can forget about it. I thought originally my failure at cracking WEP had to do with my unpatched card.

3. Can someone explain the injection rate and its purpose very simply to me?

4. Also when I load Kismet it gives me the option to connect to ath0 or wifi0. When I try to connect to ath0 it doesn't start up. When I connect using wifi0 it works. Can someone explain this simply?

Thanks for any and all help....

Peace....

Hey, I'm a newbie and just came across your post, so thort id see if i can help
    the wifi0 and ath0 problem with kismet, if you want to see how the device's are configured, then simply type "iwconfig" in a shell konsole, within backtrack

Just burned his ISO

I have the same wireless card as you so I can help a little bit.

1)I am not sure what the ath checkbox is for but I click it, and have penetrated an AP with it checked, so it worked for me!

2)Your earlier problems could be due to an unpatched cards. On ubuntu I use a madwifi patch and this allows me to change the mode of my card and inject packets. I think BT3 includes a madwifi patch as well.

3)About injection I do not know the technical aspects, but basically it injects traffic on the target AP allowing you to collect a lot more packets to analyze to determine the AP key at a fast rate with no clients connected. The rate is obviously how fast the injection goes. This is limited by your wireless card and cpu (I believe) I just leave it at default.