Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Grub : Automatically start X

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Grub : Automatically start X

    Hi all,

    I have Backtrack multibooting on my machine and I would like to know how to configure Grub2 to automatically boot BT on Graphic Mode.

    I had the following line : autoexec=startx

    But it didn't work, when booting Backtrack, I still have to type my login information and the startx command.

    Am I wrong ?

    Thank your for your help.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Grub : Automatically start X

    Up !

    Can somebody help me with my simple question ?

    Thank you

  3. #3
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: Grub : Automatically start X

    *sigh*

    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...ical-mode.html

    Please search before posting.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Grub : Automatically start X

    Hi,

    Sorry, I have to post again for the same subject as my previous post (here : http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...y-start-x.html) is locked !!!

    The answer given by lupin didn't solved my problem.

    And yes, I've searched before asking !

    lupin, you suggest me to install kdm : that's what I did and this is not what I wanted to do : with kdm, I can't log anymore in root !

    What I would like to do is to edit the Grub configuration files in order to automatically arrive on the desktop when booting Backtrack.

    That's what I successfully did whith Backtrack 3 with adding this line on Grub : autoexec=startx

    But it don't work anymore with Backtrack 3.

    Thx for help.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Grub : Automatically start X

    I have merged and opened the thread back up. In the future to prevent such actions being taken I would suggest you be more specific about the actual problem/s.
    So as for your problem kdm will allow you the option of doing a "console login" and at this login you can log on as root. Also if the answer you were given is not what you wanted to do then don't do it. No one forced you to install kdm to your system. If you did it then that means it's because you wanted to. Furthermore unless you had some special setup with BT3 then you had the default boot loader and that was lilo and not grub. Which certainly is not what you stated in your first post. Furthermore just because you search here and do not find an answer does not mean that the problem must not exist. There is a ton of info on all of the above at google.com.
    Last edited by Archangel-Amael; 02-15-2010 at 12:55 AM.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator lupin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Re: Grub : Automatically start X

    Quote Originally Posted by user31 View Post
    Hi,

    Sorry, I have to post again for the same subject as my previous post (here : http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...y-start-x.html) is locked !!!

    The answer given by lupin didn't solved my problem.

    And yes, I've searched before asking !

    lupin, you suggest me to install kdm : that's what I did and this is not what I wanted to do : with kdm, I can't log anymore in root !

    What I would like to do is to edit the Grub configuration files in order to automatically arrive on the desktop when booting Backtrack.

    That's what I successfully did whith Backtrack 3 with adding this line on Grub : autoexec=startx

    But it don't work anymore with Backtrack 3.

    Thx for help.
    Using something like kdm is the generally recommended way in which to boot to a KDE Desktop. The "cant logon on as root issue", if it occurs, can be resolved with a configuration file change (Google for the error message you get). You can also configure it to login as a particular user automatically if you wish.

    We also don't support BackTrack 3 here anymore.
    Capitalisation is important. It's the difference between "Helping your brother Jack off a horse" and "Helping your brother jack off a horse".

    The Forum Rules, Forum FAQ and the BackTrack Wiki... learn them, love them, live them.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Grub : Automatically start X

    Well,

    Thank you for reopened the thread.

    Quote Originally Posted by Archangel.Amael
    Also if the answer you were given is not what you wanted to do then don't do it. No one forced you to install kdm to your system. If you did it then that means it's because you wanted to.
    Obviously, I wasn't complaining about the fact that the answer given didn't solve my problem.
    It's always nice to see people trying to help.

    But I was complaining about the fact that the thread was locked without a word and because I can't answer anything !

    Quote Originally Posted by Archangel.Amael
    Furthermore unless you had some special setup with BT3 then you had the default boot loader and that was lilo and not grub. Which certainly is not what you stated in your first post.
    I was multibooting with Ubuntu which default bootloader is Grub .............

    Quote Originally Posted by lupin
    Using something like kdm is the generally recommended way in which to boot to a KDE Desktop. The "cant logon on as root issue", if it occurs, can be resolved with a configuration file change (Google for the error message you get). You can also configure it to login as a particular user automatically if you wish.We also don't support BackTrack 3 here anymore.
    Oops. I meant it don't work anymore with Backtrack 4 (not 3).

    Ok, thank you. I will search how to edit the configuration files in order to be able to boot in root with kdm.

    Thank you for your help anyway, I will try to help myself now.

    And sorry for the misunderstanding.

  8. #8
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Grub : Automatically start X

    I should change my nick to spoonfeeder...
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...o-booting.html

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Grub : Automatically start X

    alternative is install gdm and setup as root autologin and user to autolog.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Grub : Automatically start X

    Quote Originally Posted by jaguar View Post
    alternative is install gdm and setup as root autologin and user to autolog.
    You mean kdm since gdm is for gnome and BT uses KDE.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Backtrack 4 ISO + GRUB 2 Loopback
    By ddcc7 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-15-2010, 03:05 PM
  2. Bt4 hangs after selected from grub
    By pvibien in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-31-2010, 09:25 PM
  3. getting grub error 21
    By leeyj4951 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-07-2010, 01:12 AM
  4. Backtrack grub and Ubuntu grub
    By gots2love&hateIT in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 05:07 AM
  5. Grub Error 22
    By static829 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-15-2010, 05:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •