Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How to switch to managed mode from monitor mode backtrack 3?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default How to switch to managed mode from monitor mode backtrack 3?

    Hi,i have 4g eee pc and have windows installed with backtrack 3 on 2 gig sd card.Everything works great in windows and backtrack 3 ,only thing i can't seem to do is get my card back to managed mode in backtrack 3 so i can surf the net after doing testing.Ive tried a few scripts some long some short some work sometimes, some dont.I was wondering is there any pro's that can give me a short and sweet way to go back to managed mode? Thanks in advance for any help.

    wifi card atheros AR5007EG same as all asus eee pc

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Have you tried the following command:
    Code:
    iwconfig interface mode managed
    Just replace interface with the appropriate one, for example ath0.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    28

    Default

    That method doesn't work... the easiset thing is to take out your pcmcia card adn re-insert it... unfortunately...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlayzeX View Post
    That method doesn't work... the easiset thing is to take out your pcmcia card adn re-insert it... unfortunately...
    I see, well a rmmod & modprobe on the appropriate driver should at least achieve the same result as unplugging and re-inserting the pcmcia card. Not the most convenient way either, but at least a bit easier than actually having to physically rip the card out each time.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  5. #5
    Member hawaii67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    318

    Default

    That should do the job too:

    # pccardctl eject
    # pccardctl insert
    Don't eat yellow snow :rolleyes:

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    What kind of a chipset is on the wireless card you are trying to use? If its a atheros chipset using madwifi, then you need to run:

    wlanconfig ath0 destroy
    wlanconfig ath0 create wlandev wifi0 wlanmode managed
    ifconfig ath0 up

    And now ath0 is in managed mode. Unfortunately doing:
    iwconfig ath0 mode managed
    doesn't work with the madwifi driver thats on the BT3 cd as we found out.

    Paul

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    This looks short and sweet i will try it and get back to you....thanks.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default thanks

    i have tested your answers and thomaspu is the only one that works i guess maybe because the card is internel and not a pci card:

    wlanconfig ath0 destroy
    wlanconfig ath0 create wlandev wifi0 wlanmode managed
    ifconfig ath0 up


    i found this worked but had extra lines that were not needed:

    wlanconfig ath0 destroy
    ifconfig wifi0 down
    wlanconfig ath0 create wlandev wifi0 wlanmode managed
    ifconfig ath0 up
    ifconfig wifi0 up

    thanks goes out to : hawaii67,Tron,BlayzeX and especially thomaspu you guys are great !

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    [QUOTE=donjuanzx9;91316]
    wlanconfig ath0 destroy
    wlanconfig ath0 create wlandev wifi0 wlanmode managed
    ifconfig ath0 up
    QUOTE]

    Worked great for me Cheers!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •