Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Alfa AWUS036H Stability problems, can you help?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default Alfa AWUS036H Stability problems, can you help?

    Hi

    I share a net connection with a friend across the street, with my Alfa and a Yagi antenna the signal streangth and link quality is around 60%, but it has recently started to cut out every few minutes, when I refresh the network list I pick up another signal which is 95-100% but not the 60% one, if I unplug and plug it back in it works again for another few minutes.

    It is definately not the connection or AP itself cutting out as it's always available instantly after I have plugged the Alfa back in, and my friend is not reporting any cut outs.

    In BT2 the signal gets lost but It seems to resolve the problem itself and reconnect instantly, so I don't even notice it, apart from the message box saying the connection has been lost.

    In windows I have to either unplug and replug or click repair, any ideas ?

    (apart from always using BT, as this is not an option unfortunately.)

    Thanks in advance for your help !

    Mike

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Are you using the WirelessAssistant?,
    If so, then its a known problem

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by anathema View Post
    Are you using the WirelessAssistant?,
    If so, then its a known problem
    I second that. Personally I have not experienced any problems regarding the reliability of the connection using my Alfa 500mw since I switched from the Wireless Assistant to using the command line instead.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Thanks for your advice guys, yeah I was using wireless assistant, though WA is ok for me, as even if it comes up with "connection lost" messages the connection never suffers.

    I emailed the fleebay seller I bought it from, and to my amazement he has actually offered to replace it ! A rare fleebay merchant indeed.

    Cheers
    Mike

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default

    "Be very careful out there today, we're at terror alert orange! Which means something might go down somewhere in some way at some point in time. "

    Haha, nice sig, made me laugh out loud.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeote View Post
    I emailed the fleebay seller I bought it from, and to my amazement he has actually offered to replace it ! A rare fleebay merchant indeed.
    Replacing a perfectly fine piece of hardware due to software related issues seems like a rather foolish act to me.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default

    I'm not sure it's software related, considering it started to happen with out any software changes.

    A hardware problem which is troublesome on windows may not be as bad on linux.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeote View Post
    I'm not sure it's software related, considering it started to happen with out any software changes.

    A hardware problem which is troublesome on windows may not be as bad on linux.
    Allright, I missed the fact that the issue appeared just recently and that the same set-up had been working fine before, although you do mention this in your first post.

    Since the e-bay seller did agree to replace the device I guess this is a natural way to go about trying to solve the problem. Of course if it does not solve the issue it it might still be hardware related, but to one of the other devices you use for your connection.

    If you live in a densely populated area it might also be that another strong AP nearby has started broadcasting on the same channel as your friends AP, interfering with the signal. Apart from looking into this possibility you could ask your friend to put his AP near the window and build a cheap parabolic reflector to boost the signal even further and improve its reliability. Good and easy to follow templates for this can be found at www.freeantennas.com
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    242

    Default

    with my Alfa and a Yagi antenna
    You should test your antenna and pigtails. Almost sounds like a bad cable termination on your pigtail. We run into this with field installed lmr-400 connections sometimes.

    I'd move closer and use the stock antenna and see if your problem persists.

    What type of antenna is your neighbor using on his ap? For an "across the street" connection I'd probably use a patch antenna on both ends. Yagis can be hard to "zero in" sometimes. For across the street a yagi is probably overkill. You could also try switching the orientation of your antenna and see if it helps. (rotate it 90 degrees from vertical to horizontal or vis versa) Small adjustments with yagis can make a big difference. Try tapping it around in small increments. A degree or 2 can might be all you need.

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Thanks for your replies guys, i'll definately try the cheap parabolic antenna if the problem persists with a new alfa.

    I've tried 2 antennas with 2 seperate cables, the yagi and a 5db unidirectional panel, same problem with both, so probably not the cable.

    Cheers
    Mike

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •