Thread: Help w/ Wireless Networking?

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Thumbs down

Alright so here it is, my first post on here! I hope you guys will go easy on me, I'm still a newb to Linux in general and BT3 has caught my attention so much so that I am installing it in a Dual Boot Config on my notebook. I have a few questions but before I get started I'll give the specs to my machine:

Toshiba Satellite M35X-S1143
    CPU: 1.4 Ghz Intel Celeron M
    RAM: 256 MB DDR RAM
    HDD: 40 GB Interal
    OpD: CD/DVD Combo
    Net 1: Atheros AR5005GS Wireless Network Adapter (Internal)
    Net 2: Realtek Eithernet 10/100

Now that that's out of the way, I already gathered that BT3 has no installer, and you must install it directly from the command line, so I am figuring out how to do that. Now it's time for me to pose my first question.

How do I identify my wireless networking card and then how do I scan for wireless networks?

It's prudent to note here that I am primarily using my Wireless Network connection through a LinkSys Wireless B/G Router. The Router is set with a password and encryption, I believe WEP.

Once I have identified my Wireless Card; how do I connect to my Wireless Network and set this as my primary connection when I boot into BT3?

I know these are pretty much unadvanced and simple questions, I have been a Windows User for years and I just got fed up with it. So I have decided to take the plunge and use Linux, and for this I chose BT3. I'm a fairly competant computer guru and I will pick up what I can. I appreciate any help greatly anyone could give me here and I am thankful for it. Thank you all for stopping by to read my post.