Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Unable to connect to X server

  1. #1
    7ELEVEN
    Guest

    Unhappy Unable to connect to X server

    ok so i pop the BT3 live cd in. i get to were you need to log in as root.

    i get a message that says there is no such directory, log in as Home?


    ok so i try that...nuthing happens.


    i type in startx and it says this


    giving up

    xinit: Connection reset by peer (errno 104): unable to connect to X server
    xinit: No such process (errno 3) server error.

    what can i got to fix this so startx will run?

  2. #2
    Senior Member ShadowKill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 7ELEVEN View Post
    ok so i pop the BT3 live cd in. i get to were you need to log in as root.

    i get a message that says there is no such directory, log in as Home?


    ok so i try that...nuthing happens.


    i type in startx and it says this


    giving up

    xinit: Connection reset by peer (errno 104): unable to connect to X server
    xinit: No such process (errno 3) server error.

    what can i got to fix this so startx will run?
    What option are you booting with?

    When does the error occur, after you root:toor?



    "The goal of every man should be to continue living even after he can no longer draw breath."

    ~ShadowKill

  3. #3
    7ELEVEN
    Guest

    Default first op

    i boot with the first option on the list. the error happens after i login as root

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    try type : xorgconfig after log in (root / toor)
    and then following set up .
    Run startx at the end.
    I learned from artchangle amael

  5. #5
    7ELEVEN
    Guest

    Cool ok still nuthin

    ok so i did that...still nuthin all i get it


    Fatal server error

    xinit: Connection reset by peer (errno 104): unable to connect to X server
    xinit: No such process (errno 3) server error.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 7ELEVEN View Post
    ok so i did that...still nuthin all i get it
    Fatal server error
    xinit: Connection reset by peer (errno 104): unable to connect to X server
    xinit: No such process (errno 3) server error.
    Did you have any luck booting this media at all?
    Did you check the md5sum ?
    Have you tried another computer?
    Have you tried to re-master the media?
    Were you able to get a command prompt?
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  7. #7
    7ELEVEN
    Guest

    Default re-burn

    ok so i got it to work....


    i re-burned the bt3 cd on a different pc using a different typ of cd-r and it loads right up...


    umm how come bt3 doesnt ask me to login? you know like

    login:root
    password:toor

    ?????

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I'm having exactly the same problem as you mate, driving me mental

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    23

    Red face

    Ok, don't know if this will really help you guys but I got past this same error on my friends Averatec 3200 by doing the following:

    Once you login type:

    cd /etc/X11
    nano xorg.conf

    Then scroll down to the Section "Monitor" replace the entire section to make it look like this:

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    HorizSync 15-25, 30-50
    VertRefresh 40-90
    EndSection

    Save the changes then run startx. Let me know if this helps you guys, and sorry about the crudeness of my post, pretty much a first timer. Any advice or criticism is greatly appreciated.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by journeyman761 View Post
    Ok, don't know if this will really help you guys but I got past this same error on my friends Averatec 3200 by doing the following:

    Once you login type:

    cd /etc/X11
    nano xorg.conf

    Then scroll down to the Section "Monitor" replace the entire section to make it look like this:

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    HorizSync 15-25, 30-50
    VertRefresh 40-90
    EndSection

    Save the changes then run startx. Let me know if this helps you guys, and sorry about the crudeness of my post, pretty much a first timer. Any advice or criticism is greatly appreciated.
    No offense but by putting the same info that you have for your monitor on other monitors could cause them to malfunction. And even break. Now most newer monitors have "self protection" mechanisms built in and won't allow this to happen but some do not.
    The sync ranges are different for different monitors and each user should find this information through documentation and or the internet in order to avoid damage to their stuff.
    For more info on getting a xorgconfig file setup I have done a tutorial one could have a look at it here.
    It may be of some help.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •