Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Backtrack 3 and Aircrack

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Backtrack 3 and Aircrack

    Hello

    I have startet Backtrack 3 from LIVE CD
    I try to work with Airmon, Airodump and Aircrack but i have a problem.
    I can't search for any AP because of the error "ioctl(SI0CSIFFLAGS): Device or Resource busy".

    I attached a picture that show what i have done.

    hXXp://img174.imageshack.us/my.php?image=snapshot1xa3.jpg

    can somebody help me please???

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Have you attempted to reload the driver?
    Code:
    rmmod bcm43xx
    modprobe bcm43xx
    Also which broadcom chipset do your wireless card have, 4311, 4318, 4306 etc... ?
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    thank you for your fast answer

    i have the WLAN Card

    "Broadcom Corporation BCM94311MCG wlan mini-PCI"

    So.. I think I have the chipset "4311"

    I will try to reload the driver

    EDIT: I type in the command "iwconfig"

    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSIDff/any Nickname:"Broadcom 4311"
    Mode:Managed Frequency=2.437 GHz Access Point: Invalid
    Bit Rate=1 Mb/s
    RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Link Quality=0/100 Signal level=-256 dBm Noise level=-256 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


    I hope this will help you.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I get the same error if i reload the driver with this commands?

    Do you have some other idea to solve this problem?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    This sounds curious as I know for a fact that the bcm4318, which also uses the bcm43xx driver and is pretty much the same chipset as bcm4311, works out of the box on BT3F. Have you tried to connect to an AP with it or only put it in monitor mode? Also do you use any kind of hotkey to enable the card in windows, as many laptops using this card uses such a set-up?

    After looking at your attached picture again I noticed that you do not bring up the card again after using macchanger, which I believe is necessary to do. The command for this is naturally:
    Code:
    ifconfig eth1 up
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    This is how I set up my broadcom card:
    ifconfig eth1 down
    iwconfig eth1 mode monitor rate 1M
    macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 eth1
    ifconfig eth1 up
    Is working fine and lowering the rate to 1M seems to help with packet injection.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •