Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Broadcom 4312 [14e4:4315] [rev1]

Just burned his ISO

Default Broadcom 4312 [14e4:4315] [rev1]

Okay, I would like to point out that I am fairly new to all of this, yet before posting this I've spent several hours researching and have gotten no where.
    Firstly I'd like to say thanks for a few things like getting my Ethernet working I followed a few simple steps and managed to get that out of the way. Now the real concern is the wireless.

I've found the commands which detail my card so just for everyones information it's:

Broadcom 4312 [14e4:4315] [rev1]

So far I've followed about 3 different guides, I gathered that in order to get this card to work I would need to use something called a compat-wireless-2.6, since the current kernel on BackTrack4 is less than the supported value of 2.6.32, so I'd need to upgrade my kernel. So I tried doing this using these commands.

1$ wget http://wireless.kernel.org/download/...ss-2.6.tar.bz2
    2 $ tar -jxf compat-wireless-$(date -I).tar.bz2
    3 $ cd compat-wireless-$(date -I)
    4 $ wget http://patches.aircrack-ng.org/mac80...g+ack_v1.patch
    5$ patch -p1 < mac80211.compat08082009.wl_frag+ack_v1.patch
    6$ make
    7# make install

I try these commands, the first step downloads a documentation and within that I download the compat-wireless, then I extract it etc. Now once I'm im on step 4 I'm fine with downloading it, however step 5 doesn't work as it says: **** strip count l is not a number. So I skipped that step and did the following two steps, all fine, with certain errors but I assumed they would be normal?

Once I did that I followed the guide here: b43 - Linux Wireless, in particular the 'You are using the b43 driver from linux-2.6.25 or newer' section:

wget http://bu3sch.de/b43/fwcutter/b43-fwcutter-012.tar.bz2
    tar xjf b43-fwcutter-012.tar.bz2
    cd b43-fwcutter-012
    make
    cd ..

then

export FIRMWARE_INSTALL_DIR="/lib/firmware"