Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Alfa 500mW Enabling Kismet Source - Unknown capture source type 'r8187'

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member drwalter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    88

    Question Alfa 500mW Enabling Kismet Source - Unknown capture source type 'r8187'

    I've googled and checked on here but I keep getting mixed information and none of it seems to be adding up. I just got an Alfa awus036h. I'm using the r8187 module and bringing it up. It's entering monitor mode fine. Airodump works. I try to start up kismet after editing the sources to...

    source=r8187,wlan0,ALFA

    and I get back....

    Unknown capture source type 'r8187' in source 'r8187,wlan0,ALFA'

    Any ideas
    ================================================== ===
    Dr. Walter - Depraved linguist, Benevolent troublemaker extraordinaire
    ================================================== ===

  2. #2
    Junior Member f3ntanil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I am not sure why, but i use
    source=rt8180,wlan0,ALFA
    would that make a difference?
    That's why I say hey man nice shot. What a good shot man.

  3. #3
    Junior Member drwalter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    88

    Default

    r8180 would be a different driver. Tried bringing it up and using it just to make sure and it didn't work.
    ================================================== ===
    Dr. Walter - Depraved linguist, Benevolent troublemaker extraordinaire
    ================================================== ===

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f3ntanil View Post
    I am not sure why, but i use
    Code:
    source=rt8180,wlan0,ALFA
    would that make a difference?
    As do I and it is working flawlessly.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  5. #5
    Junior Member drwalter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by =Tron= View Post
    As do I and it is working flawlessly.
    is this in bt3final? I followed the usual steps to try to use that driver
    #modprobe r8180
    #

    #ifconfig wlan0 up
    Error no such device
    ================================================== ===
    Dr. Walter - Depraved linguist, Benevolent troublemaker extraordinaire
    ================================================== ===

  6. #6
    Member Apollopimp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drwalter View Post
    is this in bt3final? I followed the usual steps to try to use that driver
    #modprobe r8180
    #

    #ifconfig wlan0 up
    Error no such device
    im on bt3final right now i use r8187 but i just tried modprobe r8180 and it didn't give me a error try this

    source=RTL8187,wlan0,ALFA or source=rt8180,wlan0,ALFA

    since i seen your typing source=r8180,wlan0,ALFA

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drwalter View Post
    is this in bt3final? I followed the usual steps to try to use that driver
    #modprobe r8180
    #

    #ifconfig wlan0 up
    Error no such device
    No need to modprobe r8180 just edit the source in kismet.conf according to f3ntanils suggestion. And yes it is on BT3final that I use this source with my Alfa. And note that it is rt8180 not r8180 as you wrote in your post.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  8. #8
    Junior Member drwalter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by =Tron= View Post
    No need to modprobe r8180 just edit the source in kismet.conf according to f3ntanils suggestion. And yes it is on BT3final that I use this source with my Alfa. And note that it is rt8180 not r8180 as you wrote in your post.
    Wow ok yea that was it. I swear I've tried just about every combination between I guess i missed rt8180. Sorry f3ntanil I swore i tried that. I know i did r8180 (like the r8187 driver for the card) and rtl8180 not to mention every combination of 8187 but yea rt8180 definitely WORKED

    Thanks guys I've been frustrated all day over this! Now I can finally get some sleep since it's 7am
    ================================================== ===
    Dr. Walter - Depraved linguist, Benevolent troublemaker extraordinaire
    ================================================== ===

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •