Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fatal Server Error: No Screen Found (ATI)

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Fatal Server Error: No Screen Found (ATI)

    so just installed bt3 didnt have any problems until i rebooted after installing some files and decided to run "xconf" apparently a bad idea i refered to ShadowKill's thread about this under "Nvidia-compiz issues have returned" and seem to have gotten no where due to the fact that the card I have is an ati. ive searched on this and havent come up with much. any ideas for an ati fix?

    becuase i followed this:
    bt ~ # ls -la /dev/nv*
    and got back
    crw-rw-rw- 1 root video 195, 0 Nov 21 2005 /dev/nvidia0
    crw-rw-rw- 1 root video 195, 1 Nov 21 2005 /dev/nvidia1
    crw-rw-rw- 1 root video 195, 255 Nov 21 2005 /dev/nvidiactl


    but at the same time i know this is useless when your hardware is ATI not Nvidia so im assuming this would be the same way to fix it for ati but i also have no idea what files to look for in ls -la /dev/
    for ati to chown back to root : video

    any ideas?

  2. #2

    Default

    If this is a fresh install the easiest and quickest thing to do would be just to reinstall all over again.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    id rather not just reinstall to solve all of my problems because then I can help other people when this problem comes up for them.

    and i also forgot to mention ive tried

    bt ~ # ls -la /dev/a* (ati)
    bt ~ # ls -la /dev/at* (ati)
    bt ~ # ls -la /dev/r* (radeon)
    bt ~ # ls -la /dev/rad* (radeon)

    and have failed to find anything to do with video or ATI / Radeon

  4. #4
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dowski33 View Post
    bt ~ # ls -la /dev/a* (ati)
    bt ~ # ls -la /dev/at* (ati)
    bt ~ # ls -la /dev/r* (radeon)
    bt ~ # ls -la /dev/rad* (radeon)
    You do realize that ls -la /dev/a* would return the same results as ls -la /dev/at* as well as ls -la /dev/r* and ls -la /dev/rad*?
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    yes lol....

    i tried rad* before r* and at* before a* i just copy pasted those and changed it they weren't typed in, in the order i posted i apologize.

    and btw rad would return results like RADeon or RADicals or RADial
    and r would return RATHEON RADEON RAMSUS ROFL etc...
    same as a and at
    it just specifies the return of what its going to look for.
    when you type a* or at*

  6. #6
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dowski33 View Post
    yes lol....

    i tried rad* before r* and at* before a* i just copy pasted those and changed it they weren't typed in, in the order i posted i apologize.

    and btw rad would return results like RADeon or RADicals or RADial
    and r would return RATHEON RADEON RAMSUS ROFL etc...
    same as a and at
    it just specifies the return of what its going to look for.
    when you type a* or at*
    I know that, I was just pointing out that your commands were rather redundant.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    well not entirely I was under the assumption i was looking for something to do with radeon and ati so i searched rad* and at* looking for something named similar to that and not knowing file names i broadened the search by using a* and r* still under the assumption that the things i was looking for had to do with a or r.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7

    Exclamation ---- Solved ----

    i solved it..... partially i would say.....
    just run the live cd.....
    and run through these commands

    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack
    bt~#mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/backtrack
    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack/boot/
    bt~#mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/backtrack/boot
    bt~#cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,etc,lib,opt,sbin,va r} /mnt/backtrack
    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack/{mnt,proc,sys,tmp}
    bt~#mount --bind /dev/ /mnt/backtrack/dev/
    bt~#mount -t proc proc /mnt/backtrack/proc/
    bt~#cp /boot/vmlinuz /mnt/backtrack/boot/

    and reboot and should work like gold again

    now if anyone knows how to actually fix it without having to reinstall bt3 instead of just being able to chown (what ever ATI's stuff is under /dev/) please do post it.... id rather not have to just do it like this every time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •