Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: too many partitions?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default too many partitions?

    you guys have always helped me before, so here I go again!

    yes I searched =)

    trying to triple boot Vista / Xp / bt3 final

    but fdisk is telling me I have too many partitions on the hd?

    it's for my gateway laptop, 160gb...

    my goal would be:
    xp = 60gb
    bt3 = 30gb
    vista = 70gb


    any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Jenkem Addict imported_wyze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,543

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hattrick View Post
    you guys have always helped me before, so here I go again!

    yes I searched =)

    trying to triple boot Vista / Xp / bt3 final

    but fdisk is telling me I have too many partitions on the hd?

    it's for my gateway laptop, 160gb...

    my goal would be:
    xp = 60gb
    bt3 = 30gb
    vista = 70gb


    any suggestions?
    What does fdisk -l tell you?
    dd if=/dev/swc666 of=/dev/wyze

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default

    well I had xp / bt3 dual booted, but there was no drivers really for the xp, so I thought about doing xp / vista / bt3, so as of this morning:


    the hard drive is split, vista and bt3..

    but vista was installed after bt3, so it ****ed up lilo.conf, and now i get the

    error ~ read only file system or w/e..

    from what I have searched, I have to basically just reinstall bt3, which is fine with me.. but how should I go about this now?

  4. #4
    Jenkem Addict imported_wyze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,543
    dd if=/dev/swc666 of=/dev/wyze

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default

    fdisk as of right now (vista and xp)
    /dev/sda1 NTFS
    sda2 Linux
    sda3 Linux swap
    sda4 Linux

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    If you need more partitions you will have to convert one of the currently primary partitions to a extended partition and divide this into the amount of logical partitions that you require.

    The reason for this is that a PC hard disk can contain either as many as four primary partitions, or 1-3 primaries and a single extended partition.
    -Monkeys are like nature's humans.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    33

    Default

    ahh this is why I pentest on windows, lmao (jk jk, caaalm down)

    so how can i do this? I'll resize the NTFS, and make one primary and one a logical partition?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •