Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: X server problem / sound problem &...

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO i00nsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default X server problem / sound problem &...

    X server problem:
    As non root user, i can't startx. /var/log/xorg.0.log.old subtitution not permited. I add this non root user to auto-login, but did't work.
    Even if I startx as root and su in to the new user i got error. Well I don't know where the log is.. I did show it one time at #remote-exploit /freenode irc server.

    Sound problem:
    My sound card is a Audigy II Platium.
    I have no sound and my card is not detected for audio output, only for midi.
    alsaconfig is an unknown command.
    nb: as i use ubuntu for my school stuff, i did got same problem if at sound center is selected alsamixer. only ADC is giving me sound but At sound system in BackTrack3 I don't have that choice.

    And finaly other problem i detected:
    in console mode before startx i adduser. exit, login, and i try su in. one more error. i can't

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Why don't you just use root?
    BT is not designed for normal use anyways.. pentest apps need root..
    Install something else for long term use?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO i00nsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default

    The errors are:

    starx as root, open console, su new_user, firefox & >>
    Code:
     (firefox-bin:3693): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display:
    X server error:
    Code:
    xauth:  creating new authority file /home/new_user/.serverauth.3471
    
    
    Fatal server error:
    Cannot move old log file ("/var/log/Xorg.0.log" to 
    "/var/log/Xorg.0.log.old"
    I hope this errors help you help me.

    if ssh this machine as new_user and su in the error is not loged.. only give me a 'Sorry'

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO i00nsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sunapi386 View Post
    Why don't you just use root?
    BT is not designed for normal use anyways.. pentest apps need root..
    Install something else for long term use?
    Well for local testing is ok to use root.. but i use too to test some sites / machines.. and navigate or using irc or even ssh as root.. i don't like. the su in command sould work for testing i guess..

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by i00nsu View Post
    X server problem:
    As non root user, i can't startx. /var/log/xorg.0.log.old subtitution not permited. I add this non root user to auto-login, but did't work.
    Even if I startx as root and su in to the new user i got error. Well I don't know where the log is.. I did show it one time at #remote-exploit /freenode irc server.

    Sound problem:
    My sound card is a Audigy II Platium.
    I have no sound and my card is not detected for audio output, only for midi.
    alsaconfig is an unknown command.
    nb: as i use ubuntu for my school stuff, i did got same problem if at sound center is selected alsamixer. only ADC is giving me sound but At sound system in BackTrack3 I don't have that choice.

    And finaly other problem i detected:
    in console mode before startx i adduser. exit, login, and i try su in. one more error. i can't
    Don't be a fool, stay in school.

    Ok so for your user problem you need to add a user.
    Code:
    #useradd  check the man page
    This has to be done as root
    Next you will need to give that user privileges.

    You can also use the following command
    Code:
    #/usr/sbin/adduser
    This way will walk you through the steps to get a user added to the system
    It will look something like this.
    Code:
    Login name for new user []: user
    User ID ('UID') [ defaults to next available ]:
    Initial group [ users ]: users
    Additional groups (comma separated) []: exit
    - Group 'exit' does not exist
    - Please re-enter the group(s)
    Additional groups (comma separated) []:
    Home directory [ /home/user ]
    Shell [ /bin/bash ]
    Expiry date (YYYY-MM-DD) []:
    New account will be created as follows:
    Login name.......:  user
    UID..............:  [ Next available ]
    Initial group....:  users
    Additional groups:  [ None ]
    Home directory...:  /home/user
    Shell............:  /bin/bash
    Expiry date......:  [ Never ]
    This is it... if you want to bail out, hit Control-C.  Otherwise, press
    ENTER to go ahead and make the account.
    After the account is setup, you can use the following programs to manage the account:
    Code:
    # /usr/bin/passwd - Changes the password.
    # /usr/bin/chfn - Changes the finger information.
    # /usr/bin/chsh - Changes the user's login shell.

    As for the sound issue what do you mean that it does not work?
    Look for it here:
    Code:
    #/usr/share/alsa/
    Then once you find it you can edit it with a text editor of your choice.
    Code:
    #nano /usr/share/alsa/alsa.conf
    Ok let us know how that works out for you.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO i00nsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Well, about the way to adduser, as I say i use command 'adduser' .
    At Slackware versions i use to use (9.1) works well. No need to reconfig..

    Anyway those three command you gave me are not to config the X server privileges, cause that is the problem i am having and those details are auto-configured when adduser command is called.

    The sound problem I mean 'there is no sound', no system sound, no playing cd's, no radio stream sound, only the bios bip.

    alsaconfig was an unknown command for sure. the right command is alsaconf
    anyway, this command says that my sound system is ok, but it still off of range.

    I will check other forums to see how to edit the /usr/share/alsa/alsa.conf file. It seams normal for me.

    See if you get any bad config here rafb [dot] net/p/iUjnyQ75 [dot] html

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO i00nsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    14

    Default

    ok. for the su in error, in wiki have the anser. that i aply it is my case:

    Code:
        *  After Burning ISO and then Booting from CD, Login of "root" and Password
     of "toor" does not work. Neither does "root", "root". 
    
    ANSWER: This happens when the CD is burned at a high speed, there's been a 100% 
    success rate when users burn at a slow rate, 4 for example -ziplock

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    30

    Default

    I suggest you use a flash drive instead of cd. Boot time is like 40% less.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by i00nsu View Post
    ok. for the su in error, in wiki have the anser. that i aply it is my case:
    Code:
        *  After Burning ISO and then Booting from CD, Login of "root" and Password of "toor" does not work. Neither does "root", "root". ANSWER: This happens when the CD is burned at a high speed, there's been a 100%  success rate when users burn at a slow rate, 4 for example -ziplock
    Ok so here are you asking if this is what you are supposed to do or what?
    Are you stating that you got this sorted out and everything is ok?

    Anyway those three command you gave me are not to config the X server privileges, cause that is the problem i am having and those details are auto-configured when adduser command is called.
    Yes I know what those command are for. You asked about adding a user to the system so I gave you the command to get started and a couple more command that deal with adding users.
    When you add your user try adding the user to these groups “sys, disk, cdrom, audio, video, scanner, plugdev, power, camera”. See if that helps you out.
    For more information on using kde and slackware or bt together then maybe this link will help.


    The sound problem I mean 'there is no sound', no system sound, no playing cd's, no radio stream sound, only the bios bip.
    Try at root
    Code:
    #alsaconf
    /etc/rc.d/rc.alsa start
    alsamixer
    alsactl store
    When alsaconf asks for permission to modify modprobe conf, grant it. Your audio should be fully functional now.



    Sorry I could not access the link you provided. But if it is your config file then you could probably paste it here on on pastebin.


    Also just in case
    http://www.slackbasics.org/
    http://www.slackbook.org/

    Two great resources.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •