Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 164

Thread: How to install backtrack 3 final from the shell

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,334

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ghostface View Post
    Hello guys,

    If you all have notice, backtrack 3 final didn't come with the option to install OS to hard disk. But there is an easy way around that. Now, if you have the backtrack 2 or 3 beta version. Goto /usr/share/slax/ and copy BT3.kmdr or slax-install.kmdr. Use can now use that file to install backtrack 3 final to your hard disk. If you have anymore problems let me know.

    Muts, and all you guys at Remote-Exploit... I am so sorry for letting this out of the bag. But I wanted to help the newbies out. Because someone helped me once before.

    Ghostface
    I was thinking of wrapping that up into an lzm

  2. #22
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Took me about 30 minutes to get it running in VMWare using your method. Thank you for this thread!

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Many thanks pureh@te .
    This Video in Vmware i follow your steps ... as you said just like the wiki video by Muts .

    http://www.4shared.com/file/52273567...ified=9ba4263b
    How you spend your time is more important than how you spend your money. Money mistakes can be corrected, but time is gone forever. David Norris

  4. #24
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I installed BT3 a little bit different, in this post you will see how I installed it by modifying pureh@te tutorial a little bit.

    The reasons why I did it this way is that:
    -My Bios only supports 4 hard disks
    -I wanted to have /boot on the same disk as where I installed backtrack, because I have a Windows installation, a swap partition and slackware on my disks. So if the Backtrack and boot where on different disk, I would exceed the maximum allowed hard disks for my Bios.
    -The way pureh@te edit the lilo.conf gives me an L 01 01 01 01 etc error.

    If you need to partitioning your disk.

    Boot up the BT3 Final disk an use QTparted to partition your drive or boot up Gparted live CD or Ubuntu 8.04 live CD then use Gparted to partition your disk.
    Personally I prefer Gparted above QTparted.

    Boot the BT3 Final CD and open a terminal

    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack
    bt~#mount /dev/*** /mnt/backtrack/ << where *** is the drive where you want to install BT3 to.
    bt~#cp --preserve -R /{bin,boot,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,etc,lib,opt,sb in,var} /mnt/backtrack/ << here I added boot to the cp command so it copies the boot folder also to the hard drive
    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack/{mnt,proc,sys,tmp}
    bt~#mount --bind /dev/ /mnt/backtrack/dev/
    bt~#mount -t proc proc /mnt/backtrack/proc/

    Now for lilo.
    bt~#chroot /mnt/backtrack/ /bin/bash
    bt~#liloconfig << by doing this, if you have a windows installation it will be added to the lilo.conf and the boot and vga will be set correctly.

    select simple -> select framebuffer (I used the one that is automatically selected) -> then it's asking for kernel parameters just leave it empty and press ok -> Then slect the option install to MBR.

    It will give an error, Lilo Install error #1, just ignore it and press ok.

    bt~#nano /etc/lilo.conf << use nano and not kedit or kwrite it will give an error.

    Then scroll down till you see
    # Linux bootable partition config begins
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = aufs
    label = Linux
    read-only
    # Linux bootable partition config ends
    edit it to this

    # Linux bootable partition config begins
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/***
    label = Backtrack3
    read-only
    # Linux bootable partition config ends
    where *** is the partition where you installed BT3.

    Now we are done editing the lilo.conf save it by pressing ctrl+X it will then ask if you want to save the changes press Y and press enter.

    Now execute lilo
    bt~#lilo -v

    To exit chroot simply type exit
    bt/~exit

    Now reboot

    bt~#reboot

    ALL CREDITS GOES TO PUREH@TE

  5. #25
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Hey this topic helped me install bt3 on to my eeepc even understanding the reason to ditch the installer
    i'm not using it for anything else and it made sense to install it.

    But as I'm sort of new to some of this i had to search for how to make the partitions with fdisk and seeing as more ppl
    are having the same problem here's the txt i made for future reference.

    Copied from backtrack-hd-install.pdf
    by the Backtrack Development Team

    Creating the Partitions

    Next, you will need to create the partitions and file systems. The device I am
    using is /dev/sda which is 3.75 gigs in size. I will create 3 partitions. The first
    partition will be /boot which I will allocate 50 MB which will be mounted as
    /boot. The second partition will be a swap partition which I will allocate 512 MB.
    The final partition will fill the rest of the disk and be mounted as /.

    Code:
    BT ~ # fdisk /dev/sda
    Device contains neither a valid DOS partition table, nor Sun, SGI or OSF disklabel
    Building a new DOS disklabel. Changes will remain in memory only,
    until you decide to write them. After that, of course, the previous
    content won't be recoverable.
    Command (m for help):n [enter]
    Command action
    e extended
    p primary partition (1-4)
    p [enter]
    Partition number (1-4): 1[enter]
    First cylinder (1-456, default 1):[enter]
    Using default value 1
    Last cylinder or +size or +sizeM or +sizeK (1-456, default 456): +50M [enter]
    Command (m for help):n [enter]
    Command action
    e extended
    p primary partition (1-4)
    p [enter]
    Partition number (1-4): 2 [enter]
    First cylinder (8-456, default 8):[enter]
    Using default value 8
    Last cylinder or +size or +sizeM or +sizeK (8-456, default 456): +512M [enter]
    Command (m for help): n [enter]
    Command action
    e extended
    p primary partition (1-4)
    p [enter]
    Partition number (1-4): 3 [enter]
    First cylinder (71-456, default 71):[enter]
    Using default value 71
    Last cylinder or +size or +sizeM or +sizeK (71-456, default 456): [enter]
    Using default value 456
    Command (m for help): a [enter]
    Partition number (1-4): 1 [enter]
    Command (m for help): t [enter]
    Partition number (1-4): 2 [enter]
    Hex code (type L to list codes): 82 [enter]
    Changed system type of partition 2 to 82 (Linux swap / Solaris)
    Command (m for help): p [enter]
    Disk /dev/sda: 3758 MB, 3758096384 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 456 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 7 56196 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 8 70 506047+ 82 Linux swap
    /dev/sda3 71 456 3100545 83 Linux
    Command (m for help): w [enter]
    The partition table has been altered!
    Calling ioctl() to re-read partition table.
    Syncing disks.

    Creating the Filesystems
    The next step is to create the filesystems on the partitions so that we will be able to
    write data to the devices. For this setup, we will use the Linux standard ext3 filesystem.
    We won't need to modify /dev/sda2, as it is already setup as Linux Swap.

    Code:
    BT ~ # mkfs.ext3 /dev/sda1
    mke2fs 1.38 (30-Jun-2005)
    Filesystem label=
    OS type: Linux
    Block size=1024 (log=0)
    Fragment size=1024 (log=0)
    14056 inodes, 56196 blocks
    2809 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
    First data block=1
    7 block groups
    8192 blocks per group, 8192 fragments per group
    2008 inodes per group
    Superblock backups stored on blocks:
    8193, 24577, 40961
    Writing inode tables: done
    Creating journal (4096 blocks): done
    Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done
    This filesystem will be automatically checked every 25 mounts or 180 days, whichever
    comes first. Use tune2fs -c or -i to override.
    BT ~ # mkfs.ext3 /dev/sda3
    mke2fs 1.38 (30-Jun-2005)
    Filesystem label=
    OS type: Linux
    Block size=4096 (log=2)
    Fragment size=4096 (log=2)
    387840 inodes, 775136 blocks
    38756 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
    First data block=0
    24 block groups
    32768 blocks per group, 32768 fragments per group
    16160 inodes per group
    Superblock backups stored on blocks:
    32768, 98304, 163840, 229376, 294912
    Writing inode tables: done
    Creating journal (16384 blocks): done
    Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done
    This filesystem will be automatically checked every 27 mounts or
    180 days, whichever comes first. Use tune2fs -c or -i to override.

    Copied from pureh@te post

    Mount the Devices
    The next step is to mount the devices onto the disk so we can install Backtrack. We will
    create directories in /tmp to mount them.

    Code:
    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack
    bt~#mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/backtrack/
    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack/boot/
    bt~#mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/backtrack/boot/ (note: If you only have one partiton to install backtrack to simply omit this step)
    bt~#cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,etc,lib,opt,sbin,var} /mnt/backtrack/
    bt~#mkdir /mnt/backtrack/{mnt,proc,sys,tmp}
    bt~#mount --bind /dev/ /mnt/backtrack/dev/
    bt~#mount -t proc proc /mnt/backtrack/proc/
    bt~#cp /boot/vmlinuz /mnt/backtrack/boot/

    Configure Lilo

    Code:
    bt~#chroot /mnt/backtrack/ /bin/bash
    bt~#nano /etc/lilo.conf
    Now I like to delete all the bulls**t in the lilo config file so here is what mine would look like. (remember to set your own VGA accordingly )

    lba32
    boot /dev/sda
    prompt
    timeout=60
    change-rules
    reset
    vga=791
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = /dev/sda3
    label = backtrack3_final
    Excellent. Save that and then execute lilo (I like to use the verbose flag)
    Code:
    bt~#lilo -v
    after that exit your chroot enviorment
    Code:
    bt/~exit
    and reboot and cross your fingers

    Code:
    bt~#reboot

  6. #26
    Member The_Denv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    364

    Default

    Pureh@te, I just used your tutorial to upgrade from B|T3b -> B|T3_Final. Your tutorial was nice and clear and thanks a million for providing it for us. It took only 20mins to do, I did however run into an 'image /boot/vmlinuz not found' type error; that was quickly fixed by just copying the boot directory from the DVD[Usb-iso] to my HDD where BT3f was installed. [Yes, I did include the boot dir within the -preserve command line].

    Once again PH, cheers man

  7. #27
    Junior Member Schtekarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sak3r View Post
    Hey this topic helped me install bt3 on to my eeepc even understanding the reason to ditch the installer
    i'm not using it for anything else and it made sense to install it.
    Sweet. Im thinking of getting a eeepc and run bt3 on it. So how is your workong so far? No problems running bt on a eee?

  8. #28
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Yes, I did include the boot dir within the -preserve command line
    This doesn't work. You have to create /boot manually and copy the kernel into it manually.

  9. #29
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    17

    Default

    @Schtekarn

    it work's wonderfull all the hardware is recognised, the atheros card supports injection, boot's under 30 secs, its great.

    the screen can be a problem, you might consider the new one with a bigger screen, the hardware is almost the same and so is the size.

  10. #30
    Member The_Denv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    364

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pureh@te View Post
    This doesn't work. You have to create /boot manually and copy the kernel into it manually.
    Ahh, thats why. Nice...well its working on my end after copying the boot folder manually a few days ago Thanks again PH.

Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •