Page 11 of 17 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 164

Thread: How to install backtrack 3 final from the shell

  1. #101
    Just burned his ISO J_dillinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    With flash drives getting to the size they are, what is the differance between a hard drive install and a USB install? What I want from bt3 is an installed / configurable version on a flash drive. The 4 gig flash drive is large enough to have an installed version with profiles and a root password other than toor. I would like a usb install that is customized with ted or open office, the things i use other than backtrack3 tools to make the system a little more comfortable. My portable computer system. Systems like DSL just don't have the power I want from a keychain system... I have installed knoppix and was able to customize and lock down the system on a 4 gig flash drive. I have an 8 gig flash with an ext3 partition and a 1 gig swap partition... If I follow the instructions provided by pure hate, will I mess up GRUB on my box now and have to load the computer with the flash drive in the system? A problem I had doing a different flash install.

  2. #102
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Thanks pureh@te, this Tutorial was very helpful! Install went very smoothly and works perfectly!

    For anyone wondering why I chose to install to my HDD is simply because I use this laptop only for this purpose. I have been running BT2 until today when I finally had the time to change over to BT3. Using the laptop in the field USB drives can get broken easily.

  3. #103
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default no room left on device.

    first off excellent tutorial,of the thousands out there with various different methods this is nice and simple to follow..im having a problem though.when i reach this stage :

    bt~#cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,etc,lib,opt,sbin,va r} /mnt/backtrack/

    im returned with the errors no space left on device?? all partitions are set correct..any help??

  4. #104
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K7@$# View Post
    first off excellent tutorial,of the thousands out there with various different methods this is nice and simple to follow..im having a problem though.when i reach this stage :

    bt~#cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,etc,lib,opt,sbin,va r} /mnt/backtrack/

    im returned with the errors no space left on device?? all partitions are set correct..any help??
    I don't see what else could it be... Do you have enough space in the partition mounted at /mnt/backtrack/?

  5. #105
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K7@$# View Post
    first off excellent tutorial,of the thousands out there with various different methods this is nice and simple to follow..im having a problem though.when i reach this stage :

    bt~#cp --preserve -R /{bin,dev,home,pentest,root,usr,etc,lib,opt,sbin,va r} /mnt/backtrack/

    im returned with the errors no space left on device?? all partitions are set correct..any help??
    Expanded, BT3 is about 3.4GB. You might not have enough free space on your drive.

    I just followed these steps, but I can't boot into BT3. I installed it on my HDD as sda10, with changes as sda12. I had GRUB on the MBR already, so I just added an entry for BT3.

    Code:
    title		BT3 HDD
    root		(hd0,9)
    kernel		/boot/vmlinuz ramdisk_size=6666 root=/dev/sda10 rw changes=/dev/sda12 autoexec=xconf;kdm
    initrd		/boot/initrd.gz
    Boot seizes up when looking for the BT3 directory. Is the lack of a BT3/ directory causing the crash, or is it an error with my grub entry?
    ThinkPad T400

  6. #106
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    I installed it on my HDD as sda10, with changes as sda12
    This would mean you have a live install not a real install so thats probably why its not working.

  7. #107
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Alright, thanks. I get rid of the changes, since I don't have the live install, I have a full install with the changes argument.

    I found out the problem - it was the initrd. Taking it out solved the problem.
    ThinkPad T400

  8. #108
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6

    Default

    This is how my partition table looks,im assuming backtrack hdd install is for sda3 (which is what i specify when following tutorial) but as mentioned before it states no more space on device when using the cp --preserve........etc.

    Disk Drive: /dev/sda
    Size: 58506416640 bytes, 58.5 GB
    Heads: 255 Sectors per Track: 63 Cylinders: 7113

    Name Flags Part Type FS Type [Label] Size (MB)
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    sda3 Primary Linux ReiserFS 56499.45
    sda2 Primary Linux swap 1003.49
    sda1 Boot Primary Linux 1003.49

    i would have thought the 57 gig free would be sufficiant to install BT3 :P

  9. #109
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K7@$# View Post
    This is how my partition table looks,im assuming backtrack hdd install is for sda3 (which is what i specify when following tutorial) but as mentioned before it states no more space on device when using the cp --preserve........etc.

    Disk Drive: /dev/sda
    Size: 58506416640 bytes, 58.5 GB
    Heads: 255 Sectors per Track: 63 Cylinders: 7113

    Name Flags Part Type FS Type [Label] Size (MB)
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    sda3 Primary Linux ReiserFS 56499.45
    sda2 Primary Linux swap 1003.49
    sda1 Boot Primary Linux 1003.49

    i would have thought the 57 gig free would be sufficiant to install BT3 :P
    Is there the wrong partition mounted? Check to make sure that it is installing to sda3, and don't forget to make a filesystem on sda1.
    ThinkPad T400

  10. #110
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    ok, i seem to have the same problem as stagger did a while back in that it will not let me chroot /mnt/backtrack/ /bin/bash it tells me there is no file at /bin/bash while i know there is. i have completely restarted my installation several times trying to fix this problem and i have also tryed to mount -o bind /dev /mnt/backtrack/dev as instructed by another but to no avail so some help from anyone would be really nice. i have even tryed using multiple systems to try and install onto this drive but they all get stuck here.

Page 11 of 17 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •