I just wanted to share my experience getting this to work. I'm a newbie, and I had tried to get MacOSX, WindowsXP, and BT3b triple boot to work, but I decided running XP as a virtual machine on Parallels or VMWare was good enough so I decided on triple boot with Ubuntu. It took a little digging around to get this right so I thought I share it here. Please remember YMMV.

My system description is MacBook Pro 2.33 GHz, 3Gig RAM (upgraded), 200Gig HD (upgraded). Still running OSX 10.4.11.

First, please back up your drive as a "clone" bootable copy! This helps in two ways - you have a safety net in case you mess up your drive. Also, when you're trying to create partitions for Ubuntu/BT3 installation, I feel it takes too long to deframent the internal drive. I find it easier to clone everything to an external firewire drive, boot from the firewire drive, erase and reformat the internal drive, and clone the contents of the external drive back to the internal drive. You wind up with defragmented copy of what was on your internal drive. You also have a complete, bootable back up copy of your drive. (I used Prosoft's Data Backup)

Once you have your drive defragmented, download refit from their site at sourceforge and install. Nothing unusual here.

Next, go to your utilities folder and use your BootCamp Assistant to create a partition for you to use. I used 32Gigs so I can divide it to 16Gigs for Ubuntu and 16Gigs for BT3. Just make the partition, but quit when the Assistant asks you if you want to install Windows. If you are using 10.4 still, BootCamp Assistant will not work since it's "expired". Just manually change the year on your Mac to 2007, and it should work fine.

The following installation starts with BT3. I've tried starting with Ubuntu, but for some reason, I think because of the way Grub, lilo, and refit interact, that just doesn't work so please start with BT3.